"Stock" tack wiring with Nutter, and MDS Box - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > "Stock" tack wiring with Nutter, and MDS Box

ROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO NEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WD

Reply
Unread 10-03-2011, 02:16 PM   #1
GlennLever
Web Wheeler
 
GlennLever's Avatar
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 2,005
"Stock" tack wiring with Nutter, and MDS Box

I want to install a “stock” RPM” gauge in the dash.

I will be using the "Nutter" Ignition Bypass By John Nutter http://jeeps.hallbergs.com/nutter.htm and have a MSA 6 box. Will the stock tack work off the RPM feed from the MSD box?


__________________
Glenn R. Lever
Rochester, New York 14617-2012
My Cars http://www.leverfamilysite.com/vehicles.htm

My restoration thread here on the Jeep forum
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/cj...build-1269301/

New FED, Drag Racing Forum (I am an Administrator) at
http://www.frontenginedragsters.org/forum/index.php
GlennLever is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 02:26 PM   #2
Falcon_CMH
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 458
MSD has a part that is sometimes necessary to make the RPM guage work properly with their ignition box. I forget what it is called but you can google it.
__________________
Bought a 1980 CJ-7 that I am rebuilding ground up: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/my...thread-1264945
Given 6 hours to chop down a cherry tree a famous person once said I would sharpen my axe for 5 hours.
Falcon_CMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 02:32 PM   #3
Falcon_CMH
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 458
I found it this is it not sure you need it or not: http://www.pelicanparts.com/techarti...SD_install.htm
The good news is that MSD sells a "tach adapter", part number 8910
__________________
Bought a 1980 CJ-7 that I am rebuilding ground up: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/my...thread-1264945
Given 6 hours to chop down a cherry tree a famous person once said I would sharpen my axe for 5 hours.
Falcon_CMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 02:38 PM   #4
keith460
Jeep. There's Only One
 
keith460's Avatar
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 4,721
Yes you must use the MSD Tach Adapter since the factory is a 'current triggered' type tachometer.



__________________
.
1984 CJ-7 Renegade
__________________

Restoration Thread:http://www.jeepsunlimited.com/forums...d.php?t=434226
keith460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 02:45 PM   #5
Falcon_CMH
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 458
You should consider a MSD distributor and coil to get the most out of the ignition box. Be careful of doing just the coil I hear of issues with stock distributors.

Also these things go well with it:
Pulstar spark plugs and MPG Plus Spark Plug Wires by Granatelli
__________________
Bought a 1980 CJ-7 that I am rebuilding ground up: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/my...thread-1264945
Given 6 hours to chop down a cherry tree a famous person once said I would sharpen my axe for 5 hours.
Falcon_CMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 03:16 PM   #6
Falcon_CMH
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 458
Here is a piece of documentation that might help you decide if you need it or not and its the 8920 not the 10 like I incorrectly posted originally it seems:

MSD Performance Tach Adapter
To Be Used w/ Magnetic Trigger
If you are using the magnetic pickup input (green and violet wires) to trigger your MSD Ignition, you will need the 8920 tach adapter. These units will correct the operation of most voltage-triggered tachometers that do not work directly off of the tach output terminal of your MSD unit. They should also be used on current triggered tach that are wired in series with the ignition switch.
__________________
Bought a 1980 CJ-7 that I am rebuilding ground up: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/my...thread-1264945
Given 6 hours to chop down a cherry tree a famous person once said I would sharpen my axe for 5 hours.
Falcon_CMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 03:21 PM   #7
Falcon_CMH
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoC View Post
OEM stock tach or after market "stock" tach. The stock replacement ones you buy from Crown are wired differently than the original ones. The 6a has a tach hook up on its side that will work fine with the stock replacement ones and pretty sure it will wire up to the original one as well.
This guy claims you need the tach adpater for the original tach: http://www.jeep-cj.com/forums/f49/st...ermarket-7578/
__________________
Bought a 1980 CJ-7 that I am rebuilding ground up: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/my...thread-1264945
Given 6 hours to chop down a cherry tree a famous person once said I would sharpen my axe for 5 hours.
Falcon_CMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 03:26 PM   #8
Falcon_CMH
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 458
You might check this out too I6 TeamRush: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/i-...nitive-669495/
__________________
Bought a 1980 CJ-7 that I am rebuilding ground up: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/my...thread-1264945
Given 6 hours to chop down a cherry tree a famous person once said I would sharpen my axe for 5 hours.
Falcon_CMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 03:41 PM   #9
Falcon_CMH
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoC View Post
alright one more time....

If you buy a new aftermarket factory replacement tach, like in the link I provided above, you do not need a tach adapter. This comes from 1st hand experience, not what I have heard other people doing or other people trying. I run a aftermarket factory replacement tach with the MSD 6a and it works. Have installed them in other people's jeeps and it works.

In my post above I also said it should wire up with the original tach from the factory and it will as keith has pointed out just needs the tach adapter.
Just making sure my buddy gets the right parts like I originally suggested he might need so he doesn't have issues. Saying "it should wire up" (you never mentioned the tach adapter in your orig post)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoC View Post
OEM stock tach or after market "stock" tach. The stock replacement ones you buy from Crown are wired differently than the original ones. The 6a has a tach hook up on its side that will work fine with the stock replacement ones and pretty sure it will wire up to the original one as well.
insinuates you don't know and it doesn't require the tach adapter. You do need the tach adapter with the stock tach which he is using. OP's question is now answered with certainty from Keith and the other thread I referenced for him for validation from folks who have used the MSD box with stock tachs.
__________________
Bought a 1980 CJ-7 that I am rebuilding ground up: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/my...thread-1264945
Given 6 hours to chop down a cherry tree a famous person once said I would sharpen my axe for 5 hours.
Falcon_CMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 03:57 PM   #10
Falcon_CMH
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoC View Post
OP,

Are going to track down and buy a 25+ year old factory tach on craigslist / ebay or are you going to buy a stock factory replacement that looks identical to the original for $65?

I know Charles is just looking out for you since he is your buddy. In his sig he stated he is a "Noob" and to be "patient with my ignorance" so to me that insinuates he might not be sure on his advice to you.

Op,

If you are going to buy a stock factory replacement that looks identical to the original, like the one in the link I provided, YOU DO NOT NEED THE TACH ADAPTER.

If you are using a 25 + year old tach that came from factory in a CJ you need a tach adapter.
I am 100% sure of all of my advice in this thread given my research and Kevin's response. I was trying to be humble with the first post and my sig I will take that out of my sig so people like you don't get confused so easily when they give bad advice.
__________________
Bought a 1980 CJ-7 that I am rebuilding ground up: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/my...thread-1264945
Given 6 hours to chop down a cherry tree a famous person once said I would sharpen my axe for 5 hours.
Falcon_CMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 04:04 PM   #11
keith460
Jeep. There's Only One
 
keith460's Avatar
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 4,721
Regardless if is the OEM factory or an aftermarket "Current Triggered" tachometer, one must use the Tach Adapter with any of the MSD units. These type of tachometers are wired in series with the ignition system.

Since many "replacement" and aftermarket tachometers are voltage triggered, their is no need for the MSD Tach Adapter to make them function.

Done with this!
__________________
.
1984 CJ-7 Renegade
__________________

Restoration Thread:http://www.jeepsunlimited.com/forums...d.php?t=434226
keith460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 04:07 PM   #12
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler
 
Matt1981CJ7's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elbert, CO
Posts: 9,880
MoC,

Don't waste your time arguing with that guy.

Matt
Matt1981CJ7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 04:10 PM   #13
Falcon_CMH
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoC View Post
its keith not kevin

Pay attention and you might learn something...

Where is the bad advice?? I will keep it simple and type s l o w for you in the future. The point that you are not understanding is that there is a factory repalcement tach that looks 100% identical that works without the tach adapter. If you want a factory tach it is your only option other that finding a orignal 25 + year old tach.
I know that it was you who implied the factory tach didn't need the adapter so I wanted to make that clear to the OP and you. And as Keith further cleared up your mis information here:

Quote:
Originally Posted by keith460 View Post
Regardless if is the OEM factory or an aftermarket "Current Triggered" tachometer, one must use the Tach Adapter with any of the MSD units. These type of tachometers are wired in series with the ignition system.

Since many "replacement" and aftermarket tachometers are voltage triggered, their is no need for the MSD Tach Adapter to make them function.

Done with this!
There are OEM ones that need the tach adapter get your facts straight. It depends on current vs. voltage triggered and how they are wired. Did I go slow enough for you.

Which I posted a while back:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falcon_CMH View Post
Here is a piece of documentation that might help you decide if you need it or not and its the 8920 not the 10 like I incorrectly posted originally it seems:

MSD Performance Tach Adapter
To Be Used w/ Magnetic Trigger
If you are using the magnetic pickup input (green and violet wires) to trigger your MSD Ignition, you will need the 8920 tach adapter. These units will correct the operation of most voltage-triggered tachometers that do not work directly off of the tach output terminal of your MSD unit. They should also be used on current triggered tach that are wired in series with the ignition switch.
__________________
Bought a 1980 CJ-7 that I am rebuilding ground up: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/my...thread-1264945
Given 6 hours to chop down a cherry tree a famous person once said I would sharpen my axe for 5 hours.
Falcon_CMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 04:27 PM   #14
Falcon_CMH
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoC View Post
Find me a OEM looking factory replacement tach that is not made by Crown or Omix... Both crown and Omix tachs are voltage triggered.
Here is a factory one he might buy: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/cj-je...item3cbc41f0cf

Don't know about OEM Keith mentioned they were around and I am sure on ebay or other jeeps etc he could end up with one. Some folks want the bounce from the old school gauges.

Don't be mad at me because you were wrong suck up and get over it. Bottom line the OP needs to go by current or voltage trigger tach to decide.
__________________
Bought a 1980 CJ-7 that I am rebuilding ground up: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/my...thread-1264945
Given 6 hours to chop down a cherry tree a famous person once said I would sharpen my axe for 5 hours.
Falcon_CMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2011, 04:40 PM   #15
Falcon_CMH
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoC View Post
Again show me one.
Ask Keith he is the one that mentioned it not me.

I showed you one (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/cj-je...item3cbc41f0cf) that needs the tach adapter which is what the OP says he is using he never mentioned OEM I am done with you I did the right thing and showed due diligence and how the OP could tell that the current triggered Tachs need the adapter, this is what he needs to know.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falcon_CMH View Post
Here is a piece of documentation that might help you decide if you need it or not and its the 8920 not the 10 like I incorrectly posted originally it seems:

MSD Performance Tach Adapter
To Be Used w/ Magnetic Trigger
If you are using the magnetic pickup input (green and violet wires) to trigger your MSD Ignition, you will need the 8920 tach adapter. These units will correct the operation of most voltage-triggered tachometers that do not work directly off of the tach output terminal of your MSD unit. They should also be used on current triggered tach that are wired in series with the ignition switch.
I never gave bad advice like you did which is clearly documented in the thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoC View Post
OEM stock tach or after market "stock" tach. The stock replacement ones you buy from Crown are wired differently than the original ones. The 6a has a tach hook up on its side that will work fine with the stock replacement ones and pretty sure it will wire up to the original one as well.
So quit trying to change the subject and make me look bad when its you who gave mis information I never did.
__________________
Bought a 1980 CJ-7 that I am rebuilding ground up: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/my...thread-1264945
Given 6 hours to chop down a cherry tree a famous person once said I would sharpen my axe for 5 hours.
Falcon_CMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.