Steering Stabilizer Help - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Steering Stabilizer Help

XJ Rail Sale!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!Vanco Big Brake Kit Promotion!

Unread 03-17-2010, 12:15 PM   #1
Funkyguru
1986 CJ7 

Steering Stabilizer Help

Ok Im a newbie so cut me a little slack if I screw up. I have a 1986 Cj7 and I am attempting to upgrade the stock stabilizer with a Rancho stabilizer. I ordered my Rancho from JC whitney and when I tried to install it I found its the wrong one. I called whitney and they confirmed the part number is correct. So now Im thinking that somebody before me may ahave miodified the front end of my rig. The one thats currently on my jeep has a round mounting hole on one end and the shaft on the other. The one that I recieved has bassically a shaft on both ends. Can any body give me an idea of what I have and what I need to get this thing right?

Funkyguru is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-17-2010, 12:21 PM   #2
LT1CJ7
1983 CJ7 

The steering stabilizer your trying to replace sounds like the original one.
All the aftermarket ones use different brackets.
Did you get any gold iridited brackets with the new stabilizer ?
Or did you just buy a replacement or a replacement kit ?
LT1CJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-17-2010, 12:39 PM   #3
LT1CJ7
1983 CJ7 

This is what you should have bought.
Rancho RS97345 - Rancho RS5000 Steering Stabilizers - Overview - SummitRacing.com

You probably bought just the replacement stabilizer.
Rancho RS5402 - Rancho RS5000 Steering Stabilizers - Overview - SummitRacing.com
LT1CJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-17-2010, 02:06 PM   #4
BootheelBoy
1986 CJ7