steering question -

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-03-2002, 04:08 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
2cjs's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: tennessee
Posts: 430
steering question

Can i use a 92' steering gear box on my 83 cj?

2cjs is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 4 Old 12-07-2002, 02:15 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 206
Of course, you can't interchange manual and power. Look them over carefully, holding them side-by-side and closely compare them. They are prolly interchangeable. These kind of parts typically are used for many years in a row because they do not need to be re-engineered very often. Go to a Jeep parts dept and ask the man to ID the part numbers. If they match, they are identical. Only thing that may change this is that in 83 it was an AMC part and in 92 it was Chrysler.

"Blessed is one who gives without remembering and receives without forgetting." Rabbi Eleazar, 1250 AD

93 YJ project. 4.0L, stick
MJ-7 re-body, Banks header, 2.5 " pipe, low resistence cat, Flowmaster. K&N filter thru a snorkel.

Last edited by Jeepzilla; 12-07-2002 at 02:18 AM.
Jeepzilla is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-07-2002, 06:42 AM
BESRK's Avatar
1980 CJ5 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 12,285
I think they're both Saginaw boxes aren't they? Power steering boxes use a different pitman arm than manual boxes so you'd need to pick up a power steering tie rod end. I believe the input shaft splines may be different also but I'm not positive. I think the manuals use a 3/4"x30 spline and the powers use a 3/4"x36 spline (I could be wrong on this it's been awhile since I messed with my steering stuff). Other than that the only other thing to make sure of, is that the power steering box and pump both should use O-ring fittings (which can be changed on the pump, or custom hoses can be made). If you're just swapping power steering box for power steering box, they will probably just swap right over. Good luck.

'80 CJ5 w/AMC360, T176, D44 w/Detroit 4.56, RE 4" YJ lift and 35s..

Lower 2


Down Schoolbus

Slickrock Tellico



More Crozet
BESRK is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-07-2002, 11:49 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 15,807
Originally posted by BESRK
If you're just swapping power steering box for power steering box, they will probably just swap right over. Good luck.
Exactly! They both will use the same sized input shaft and use the same hose fittings.

Jeepzilla it's not as complicated as you might think. Saginaw supplied the steering boxed and the basic design makes them very interchangable.
CSP is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Another CJ Steering question JackN77CJ7 Jeep CJ Forum 7 03-05-2007 06:39 AM
Another steering Question... Blue83CJ7 Jeep CJ Forum 2 09-29-2006 03:41 AM
steering question surlysteve Jeep CJ Forum 1 10-27-2003 06:39 PM
Steering question benny6 Jeep CJ Forum 3 06-11-2002 09:12 AM
cj-7 steering question Gemelos Jeep CJ Forum 10 04-12-2002 09:48 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome