Steering parts replacement advice - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Steering parts replacement advice

FS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineOld Man Emu WK Lift - Black Friday Special!!

Unread 01-13-2010, 08:25 AM   #1
atomicflatulenc
1985 CJ7 

Steering parts replacement advice

I am certain that I will be replacing my steering box bracket. I'm getting a lot of flex with the stock bracket.

I'll probably use the Big Daddy bracket. The bracket looks very stout. Are there any others I should look at?

Since I'll have everything apart, should I consider replacing the steering box? Steering pump? Hoses? I'm relatively new to rock crawling and wrenching. There is a lot of "common sense" automotive things that I just don't know yet.

I already replaced the steering shaft with the Borgenson. That really helped with the steering slop.

'85 CJ7, 258 4.2 Howell TBI, NP435, twin sticked Dana300, 4.56 Yukon chromoly: Rear20-extra thick tubes, shaved,trussed,discbrakes,ARB: Front30- flipped tierod,Detroit EZ locker, warn hubs: 3.5" BDS YJ springs and booster, 35" Trxus M/T's, rhino'd, full roll cage, borgenson steering shaft, big daddy steering box bracket...Unknown OIL Leak(working on it...)
FOR SALE $6000
atomicflatulenc is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-13-2010, 08:40 AM   #2
jeepn012
2005 LJ Wrangler 

With 35's, I'd consider a hydraulic assist setup. The only hard part about it is welding on the tabs for the ram. I'm not sure if you've got the capabilities.

Check out these guys, they have very reasonable prices.
hydrosteering