steering knuckle swap - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > steering knuckle swap

End of Summer Sale, 20% OFF!2007 - 2011 Jeep JK Long Arm Lift KitsIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 04-05-2010, 12:48 AM   #1
edub78
1978 CJ5 

steering knuckle swap

hey everyone... newbie here and workin on my first jeep... somehow i managed to talk myself into a full blown frame off resto... swapping wt's under my cj5 and was planning on keeping the "big disc brakes" off my nt... i've done lots of research and haven't come up with much, which is how i usually teach myself how to do anything cuz i hate to pay someone to do something i can learn how to do... my friends say i'm stingy (can you believe that lol)...

after tearing down both axles, wt d30 and nt d30, and comparing all four knuckles the knuckles off the nt look to be bent or twisted where the tie rod/drag link connect to the knuckle... more so on the drivers side

will this effect steering if i keep using them?
what are options to fix without buying new knuckles?
can i use the wt knuckles (2 bolt caliper bracket) with my "big disc brake" and 6 bolt caliper brackets?

thx E

edub78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-05-2010, 11:12 AM   #2
edub78
1978 CJ5 

taking my parts to the sandblaster today... maybe i'll take all four knuckles in case i have to use the wt knuckles... any help would be appreciated
Unread 04-05-2010, 12:26 PM   #3
foggybottombob
1984 CJ7 

The typical differences in open Dana 30/44 knuckles of this type come under these headings:
1) The throw (this measurement has to do with the distance from the stub axle eye to the face of the knuckle. As far as I know, this is the same for all these open knuckles.