Starting my Scout Dana 44 front axle swap - Page 3 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Starting my Scout Dana 44 front axle swap

ExtremeTerrain GROUP BUY: Barricade Rear Bumpers/Tire CarrIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSteering and more from Ruffstuff!

Unread 02-25-2013, 04:34 PM   #31
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler

1981 CJ7 

Honestly, this swap doesn't seem worth the effort, to me.

Perhaps this thread makes it seem more difficult than it is, dunno.

Matt

Matt1981CJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-25-2013, 06:18 PM   #32
aufan
1986 CJ7 

Matt,

The swap really isn't that hard at all. I have very little mechanic experience. The extent of my mechanic skills include changing fluids, changing belts and brake pads and that's about it. I had a friend help me remove the hubs and show me all the importance of each component. Grinding off the c's wasn't hard just a bit time consuming. By rotating the c's, setting pinion angle and spring perches it allows you to really set the axle up correctly to what size lift your running. Nothing is as simple as slapping a lift on and expecting to drive straight down the road.
aufan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-12-2013, 03:06 PM   #33
Necromancer_tat
Where'd all my money go?

2001 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by aufan View Post