Starting to Begin - Page 21 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Starting to Begin

Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4w

Unread 09-10-2013, 07:01 PM   #301
rplivin
1985 CJ7 

Which tie rod flip did you use I am going to order some.

rplivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-11-2013, 04:54 AM   #302
S76
1984 CJ7 

Quote:
Originally Posted by rplivin View Post
Which tie rod flip did you use I am going to order some.
I used these from Ken Thompson. I studied them all and (to me) this one seemed the best. If you cut an accurate 3/4 hole the bushing just drops in. It has a small lip to hold the correct position, and it has a slit down the side. When you tighten the TRE (tie rod end) it expands the bushing so all 3 pieces are locked together. No welds to rely on.

In my case I went straight for a 3/4 drill, but it vibrated and wobbled it's way through and the hole ended up a tad over sized, which casued the TRE to sit inside deeper than ideal when tightened. If I had to do it again I would ream to 3/4 and it would fit perfect, as advertised.

http://blackmagicbrakes.com/Jeep_Co-Op.php
Unread 09-11-2013, 12:02 PM   #303
S76
1984 CJ7 

Started early today. First order of business was to get this trans/xfer case out of the basement and into the garage.

I didn't know if I could lift it and get it into the wheel barrow but it went easier than I thought.

Started on the back of the motor. 2 trips down town sourcing bolts and a clutch alignment tool.

Once in the garage I had the engine hoist to lift with so that was easy. And by the way, rachett straps are the best things.