spoa lift - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > spoa lift

The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Don't forget the Jeep Forum discount, 10% off!Ruffstuff's Monster Shock Brackets!

Unread 05-26-2004, 08:01 PM   #1
thebigbadjeep

spoa lift

whats the best way to do a spoa (spring over axle) lift on a 81 jeep cj-5. am i better off to buy a kit or if im a good welder and fabricator to just build it myself using universial spring perches and other parts as i go? and how does it affect the steering geometry? i found a bolt on kit for around $450 am i better off just to buy the kit or fabricat it? im planning on running 36x12.5x15 tires if anyone has any input on whats the best set up is it would be greatly appriciated i was planning on doing a 4'' lift and a spoa lift thanks

thebigbadjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-26-2004, 08:50 PM   #2
SamFromCO

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebigbadjeep
whats the best way to do a spoa (spring over axle) lift on a 81 jeep cj-5. am i better off to buy a kit or if im a good welder and fabricator to just build it myself using universial spring perches and other parts as i go?
The best way is to do a lot research before you start. Only you know if you can handle the fabrication. The actual fabrication isn't as hard as knowing the proper way of doing things.
Quote:
...and how does it affect the steering geometry?
It can be changed drastically, possibly to the point where your Jeep will be undrivable. Again, do the research. If you know the results that you want to achieve you'll know what to do to get there.
Quote:
i found a bolt on kit for around $450 am i better off just to buy the kit or fabricat it?