Speed, Gearing, and getting outrun by grandma. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Speed, Gearing, and getting outrun by grandma.

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHut

Unread 03-14-2003, 12:43 AM   #1
SirYoplait

Speed, Gearing, and getting outrun by grandma.

Ok, as a preface, I'm pretty new to all this (my first jeep, i've had it right at 2 months, and i'm finally getting into modifying it), making it entirely possible that I say something that makes little to no sense. That said, I want to regear my jeep.

It's an 81 CJ-7 with a 258 in it, 5 speed, holley carb, probably 4 1/2 inches of total lift running 33"x12.5 BFG MT's, flowmasters, air filter, and other small performance upgrades.. (upgraded ignition too as soon as i get around to it)

It runs great, sounds great, but.. it is slow, real slow. I got schooled by a minivan earlier today at a stop light. Alright, so i wasn't trying to race, but that just illustrated to me how slow my jeep is. Overdrive is worthless, I drive on the interstate in 4th at 2000/2100 rpm for 100 miles at a time, and even get better fuel economy than were i trying to drive in 5th. And i don't drop down to 50mph everytime a hill comes up.

I know the problem comes from the fact that it's still got stock gearing, but beyond that, I don't know much. How involved is the replacement, etc ? I want to do it all myself, something about paying someone to work on my jeep just doesn't strike me right.

So, the questions I have, after all that:
1) How can i confirm what gearing is in it?
2) What should my target cruisng rpm be ?
3) What gearing should I be changing to, what's everyone else using?