Soft brakes? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Soft brakes?

RCI FUEL CELL BRACKET - Perfect for the back of your JeepARTEC LABOR DAY SALE - 15% offNitro Gear Packages Now Available at Rockridge 4wd

Unread 11-12-2009, 05:12 PM   #1
Rupie25
1977 CJ7 

Soft brakes?

With manual brakes, should they need to be pumped? First application of the pedal is pretty soft, I can still stop on the the first application of the pedal, but if I pump it once or twice the brakes are really strong. I have bled the brakes a couple of times. This is my first time with manual brakes and I don't have anything to compare to.

Rupie25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-12-2009, 09:28 PM   #2
jeepdaddy2000
Web Wheeler

1971 CJ5 

Should have a high hard pedal. First two most obvious procedures:
Bleed brakes.
Insure drum style brakes are adjusted.
There are plenty of writeups here on both procedures so take a sec and do a quick search if your unsure of anything.
jeepdaddy2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-2009, 06:45 AM   #3
Mike Romain
1986 CJ7 

Air or poorly adjusted rear brakes or a loose front wheel bearing can all cause a low pedal on the first pump.

If the emergency brake pedal is really low, suspect the rear drum adjustment. (unless the cable was adjusted with the low pad adjustments, then you will need to adjust it to see if it needs it while backing off the cable to allow it to adjust. If the cable was adjusted with the low pad adjust, then the cable will be the pivot point for the shoes which will also cause a strange pedal before it breaks the cable end)