So which one is it? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > So which one is it?

SYE Kits from CCOR! 706-207-4140Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge Bushings

Unread 02-19-2010, 12:02 PM   #1
frodin1
1980 CJ7 

So which one is it?

I'm new to the Jeep thing, and I have search and found mostly complaints about every carb out there. My question is which carb is the best setup for the 1980 258 6cylinder? Should I stick with stock, or lean another direction? This motor is well equipped, with headers, dual exhaust, MSD ignition etc. Just looking to replace the leaking POS carb ? Got any recommendations?

frodin1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-19-2010, 12:06 PM   #2
Jeepican
1976 CJ5 

I would say that depends on how much $$$ you are willing to spend..... under $200 go with Motorcraft 2100... over $200.... Weber would be nice.....

"Oh, you're just full of fun today, aren't you? Why don't we go up to the old people's home and wax the steps?"
-Barney Fife-
Jeepican is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-19-2010, 12:09 PM   #3
78treehugger
1980 CJ7 

I have the motorcraft and love it. After my buddy saw how well mine ran after I got it dialed in he had me install one on his YJ. Same 258s.

It's easier to get forgiveness than permision.
Salad is what food eats!!!
http://emptypocketsoffroad.org/
78treehugger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-19-2010, 01:10 PM   #4
Dngrs1
1979 CJ7