Show me your frame repairs that have worked or failed! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Show me your frame repairs that have worked or failed!

Labor Day Sale!FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 02-02-2012, 04:21 PM   #1
jpywell52
1979 CJ7 

Show me your frame repairs that have worked or failed!

Hey folks,

I'm about to attempt to repair the frame of my CJ. I'm a reasonably experienced amateur welder so I'm not going into this totally blind but thought I'd ask if anyone has pictures of frame repair jobs that have worked or failed epically (as one can learn almost as much from failure as from success).
I'm attaching the before photo.
The rust spot on mine is on the passenger side just above the skidplate/trans mount holes. The hole is 11" long and only effects the inside section of the boxed frame the outer section of the box is solid all the way round and in fact seems to be coated with the original paint(? or coating)

My plan is to remove the rusted metal a couple inches up and out from the existing hole so I'm welding to something solid, then do a lap joint all the way around with 3/16" plate bent to match the profile of the frame.

Comments and suggestions welcome, I'll be posting pictures as this comes along.

jpywell52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2012, 04:46 PM   #2
ejeeperguy
1982 CJ7 

Rear frame was gone.Had a machine shop make me one .This was before the online catalogs sold them.It only ran me 65 bucks and some welding time.
im002036.jpg  
ejeeperguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2012, 06:39 PM   #3
mopar346
1984 CJ7