Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Shocks.... Which ones?

2K views 15 replies 9 participants last post by  Spencer911 
#1 ·
Hey guys you have given me awesome advice before and I now need it again. I have an 83 CJ7 with 258 and it came with what I was told are 2" rancho lift springs. I orderd and have recieved my M.O.R.E shackles for it and now I want to buy shocks. I am looking for your past experiences or advice on what to buy. My jeep is a daily driver, and light trail use but no major wheeling. Thanks.:thumbsup:

#4 ·
I am using Skyjacker Hydros. They work awesome for the type of wheelin I do. They allow for excellent articulation and have a great ride. I mainly run slow technical trails and mud. If you are a high speed wheeler that likes to get air I would suggest something stiffer otherwise they are inexpensive shocks that work great. I've been running them for about 5 years and they do not show any sign of wearing out.

#6 ·
Go with an adjustable shock, such as Rancho 9000 series. Easy to set them to a comfortable ride, or stiffen them for a load, or turn them down for better articulation/smoother ride offroad.
If you ever plan on long highway drives or long trail rides, you'll find that adjustable shocks are worth every dime. :)

#7 ·
To me adjustable shocks are overrated I have Rancho 9000s on the back of my 7 and I always keep them turned up. You can't convince me that valving has anything to do with the amount of articulation, ride quality yes.

That said I just bought a set of Bilstein 5100s with the stiffest valving for the front of my Jeep and they are the best shocks I have used.

The stiffer valving also makes the Jeep feel a lot more stable when riding side hills.

#8 ·