Shackle Lift - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Shackle Lift

Dan's Old as Dirt Birthday Sale!Premium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDGGEARSHADE Pocket Tops in stock and available at ROCKRIDGE

Unread 06-12-2011, 08:02 PM   #1
Brodie14
1984 CJ7 

Shackle Lift

Let me start off by saying that I'm in no way, shape or form a gear head... but I'm learning, so any help is greatly appreciated.

I just bought an '84 CJ7 with a 3" lift. I'd like a little more lift and from looking around a shackle lift seems like a good option. My question is, will this change the angle of the drive shaft so much that I'll need to make modifications?

Again, I'm new at this so take it easy on me if this is an obvious question.

Thanks,

Brodie14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-12-2011, 08:51 PM   #2
LT1CJ7
1983 CJ7 

I'll be nice & take it easy.
Lift shackles are the worst thing you can do to a CJ!
As a rule of thumb, No more than a 1/2" lift shackle.
There is a search function that will show many many answers to your question.
LT1CJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-12-2011, 08:57 PM   #3
gojeepin
1983 CJ7 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brodie14 View Post
Let me start off by saying that I'm in no way, shape or form a gear head... but I'm learning, so any help is greatly appreciated.

I just bought an '84 CJ7 with a 3" lift. I'd like a little more lift and from looking around a shackle lift seems like a good option. My question is, will this change the angle of the drive shaft so much that I'll need to make modifications?

Yes... the longer shackles will change both your driveline and steering angles.

Read the article in my signature block. It covers many of the things you'll encounter.