JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   Jeep CJ Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/)
-   -   Sending Unit/Idle Help (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/sending-unit-idle-help-1529872/)

SalParadise17 05-29-2013 05:38 PM

Sending Unit/Idle Help

Hey guys, this is my first real post. If it is not thorough enough (I’m sure it won’t be) I will do my best to update the information that is needed. Unfortunately, this is my first “real” jeep so I’m still learning.

1979 Jeep CJ7- 258 (Originally a 304-PO swap not sure why)- Automatic Transmission- Quadratrac- (Locking Hubs so I think the conversion has been done, but haven’t done a thorough go through, Sorry).

When I first got the CJ it was running a little rough- I dropped the tank and then replaced it with a new 15 Gallon. Replaced the sending unit also. This did not solve my problem. There is a clear plastic filter, about a foot to the rear of the mechanical fuel pump, which was installed in lieu of the traditional filter near the carb. There is no return line. The lines have been “cleared”, but I am planning on replacing them as soon as I am able. The idle has been adjusted to keep it running to about 1300 RPM. I believe that the vacuum lines are all good but will be doing another go through in the near future.

Issue/Question- As you can see in the pictures below, the fuel filter never fills with gas. At most, there is 1-2 oz. of gasoline in the filter at any given time. About a week ago the filter filled all the way for the first time. Thinking most of the gunk from the lines was clear; I swapped filters for a new one. Since then, I have still been having the idle problem, and the filter does not have, what seems to me, enough gas flowing through it.

Is this a problem with my Sender Unit? Maybe not getting power?

Does anyone know what the fuse for this is labeled in the fuse box?

Any other suggestions? (I know I’m opening myself up here)