Replacing radiator with Thermostat questions - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Replacing radiator with Thermostat questions

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 02-26-2013, 09:50 AM   #1
AlexThePhotoGuy
1985 CJ7 

Replacing radiator with Thermostat questions

Hey all!

I have a leaky radiator (crazy for a 28 year old CJ7, I know!). I plan to replace it Friday. It looks pretty straightforward- a few bolts and change out a few hoses (though let me know if I'm missing something!)

In reading the forums, everyone says I should go ahead and change the thermostat while I'm at it. I'm a newbie, so I'm having trouble figuring out where that part is (anyone have pictures?) and how hard is it to install correctly. I'm confident the PO did almost no work under the hood for 12 years, so I'm not confident any of the hoses/wires are connected properly at this point (recently found out he just took out the PCV valve out of the valve cover in the back years ago, so there was oil just spashing onto the wires and hoses near the firewall at that open hole).

Also- I'm reading the thermostat may possibly be the reason why my heater doesn't work? It blows air, just not warm/hot air. Not 100% sure how they interact.

Any tips and/or photos for a thermostat change would be great! Thanks!

AlexThePhotoGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2013, 10:08 AM   #2
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler

1981 CJ7 

I think this will help you.

Matt
Matt1981CJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2013, 10:42 AM   #3
WindKnot
Web Wheeler

1977 CJ7