Remove body lift??? Please help... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Remove body lift??? Please help...

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueThanksgiving/Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals at JeepinOutf

Unread 09-05-2011, 09:06 PM   #1
kdog806
1986 CJ7 

Remove body lift??? Please help...

I have an 86' CJ7. I recently purchased it and it is my first jeep.

It has 35" tires and the prior owner told me it has a 4" suspension lift and 2" body lift. The suspension lift appears to be 4" and I believe it has 1" lift shackles as well.

The body lift has 2" tall body mounts. Is this a 2" lift or a 1" lift. I am new to this but it would make more sense to me if 2" body mounts were actually a 1" lift.

I am contemplating dropping the body down 1" (either removing the lift and going back to standard mounts or go to a 1" lift..depending on the responses to the question above).

So the second question, do you think I will still have enough clearance to drop the body 1"? The main reason I want to drop it is so that the jeep will fit in my garage with the hardtop on....currently there is only about 1/2" clearance between the roll cage and the header of my garage.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

kdog806 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-05-2011, 09:12 PM   #2
CJeep
Alpha dog

1982 CJ8 

Can you take a close-up pic of the mount? Who knows what the PO meant.

2004 Grand Limited 4.7 HO - OH Boy!

2010 Grand Laredo 5.7 Hemi - SICK - work vehicle -gone - replaced by an 08 Tahoe - nice ride.

"Both my Doberman and my Jeep can accurately be described as 'black and rust.'"