Rebuilt t176 hard to shift - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Rebuilt t176 hard to shift

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineNEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%

Unread 05-05-2013, 10:02 AM   #1
Mudpuppy1979
1984 CJ7 

Rebuilt t176 hard to shift

I'm reaching out in hopes that the experienced guys here may have some insight. I purchased a t176 online. I went through it and rebuilt it. I have never done a transmission before. Only issue i saw inside was the reverse idler was a little gnawed so i replaced it. I paid very close attention to the order or things. I took pictures and also kept the parts in order on a piece or conduit. But one never knows, maybe I made a mistake. Anyway I finished putting a complete new drivetrain in my 84 cj7 and took it for a test drive. First, when starting, even in neutral, the jeep lurches forward very slightly. I found this odd. It went right into reverse and I backed it out. I had to push on the shifter pretty hard to get it out of reverse. The clutch is disengaging fine by the way. Then I put it in 1st and pulled out to the road. It was difficult when going down the road to shift to second and third, but its just fine going in and out of fourth. When I came to a ustop I had to push pretty hard and keep playing with the shifter to get it into first or second to take off again. Now it is very difficult to get into or out of first,second, and third. Fourth and reverse are just fine. I did not rebuild the shift tower for it seemed to be just fine and I did put a new shifter in it. What gives? Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Oh by the way, it got a 304 too.

Mudpuppy1979 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message