Rebuilt AMC 304 crank won't turn manually - Page 3 - JeepForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #31 of 64 Old 01-22-2013, 11:37 AM Thread Starter
Greekcj5
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ramona
Posts: 106
I have access to both. Just bought a digital one not too long ago but still have a few analog ones too. that sounds like what swatson was saying to do. I'll do that tonight and hope for the best. I'll follow up with results tonight or tomorrow. Thanks guys

Greekcj5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 64 Old 01-22-2013, 12:25 PM
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 16,126
Good luck with it! I'd much rather use mics than Plasti-gage. Plasti-gage saves guys who don't have mics the expense, but it's no substitute if you have them.
CSP is offline  
post #33 of 64 Old 01-22-2013, 12:29 PM Thread Starter
Greekcj5
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ramona
Posts: 106
Awesome. Not like the plastigauge is expensive but its one last thing i have to buy and i trust my micrometer more seeing as I've used it hundreds of times already. Thank you
Greekcj5 is offline  
 
post #34 of 64 Old 01-22-2013, 01:00 PM
swatson454
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 6,700
That's definitely the right way to go. I guess I should've asked if you had access to mics.


Shawn

Live in a way that those who know you but don't know God will come to know God because they know you.
swatson454 is offline  
post #35 of 64 Old 01-22-2013, 01:12 PM Thread Starter
Greekcj5
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ramona
Posts: 106
I'll post how it went tonight or tomorrow. Thanks for the help.
Greekcj5 is offline  
post #36 of 64 Old 01-23-2013, 10:28 AM Thread Starter
Greekcj5
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ramona
Posts: 106
Morning gents. So here's the latest. Seeing as the pistons were already installed i tried plastigauge first. The clearances are as follows:
Cyl 1-.001
Cyl 2-.0013
Cyl 3-.001
Cyl 4-.0013
Cyl 5-.0015
Cyl 6-.0012
Cyl 7-.001
Cyl 8-.001

In all it looks like i have four looser ones and four tight ones. Not sure how to arrange them to work though. Any suggestions?
Greekcj5 is offline  
post #37 of 64 Old 01-23-2013, 10:54 AM
swatson454
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 6,700
That looks awfully tight, buddy. I don't have an AMC manual but I'd expect to see closer to .0018 to .0022 ish. What does the book say?

You may need to pull the pistons and mic everything.


Shawn

Live in a way that those who know you but don't know God will come to know God because they know you.
swatson454 is offline  
post #38 of 64 Old 01-23-2013, 11:04 AM Thread Starter
Greekcj5
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ramona
Posts: 106
The book its pissing me off cause all it says is tighten the caps to the torque specs listed in the figure provided. I might try getting a Haynes instead of the Chilton i have unless there's a better alternative. I'm also gonna try replacing the.001s with the old bearings and check the clearance with those on. Maybe the crank didn't get ground down to .020 under after all.
Greekcj5 is offline  
post #39 of 64 Old 01-23-2013, 11:08 AM
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler
 
Matt1981CJ7's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elbert
Posts: 19,001
Spec is .001 - .003, so he's definitely on the tight side of spec. Mine were all around .002. Connecting rod torque spec is 33 ft-lbs.

Do the pistons move smoothly and freely in the cylinders when they aren't connected to the crank?

What did your main bearings plasti-gauge at?

Matt


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Matt1981CJ7 is offline  
post #40 of 64 Old 01-23-2013, 11:23 AM Thread Starter
Greekcj5
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ramona
Posts: 106
Everything moves nice when not connected. Checked ring gap and it was about.0016 which is barely bigger than spec. Crank also moves freely without anything connected. Forgot what mains gauged at but i remember them being within specs. Another thing, my Chilton says my end cap torque is 30 ft-lbs max but you say its 33 so that throws my gauging off by 3 ft-lbs which means there's probably less than .001 for a few of them.
Greekcj5 is offline  
post #41 of 64 Old 01-23-2013, 12:04 PM
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler
 
Matt1981CJ7's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elbert
Posts: 19,001
I wouldn't waste your time trying the old bearings, or even .010 bearings, they will be too sloppy.

The reason I asked about the main bearings is the rear main journal has a different spec. (.002-.004") versus journals 1-4 (.001-.003").

Mains torque to 100 ft-lbs.

Matt


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Matt1981CJ7 is offline  
post #42 of 64 Old 01-23-2013, 12:20 PM Thread Starter
Greekcj5
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ramona
Posts: 106
I torqued the mains to 100 and it moved pretty easily. What about using the .020 on the rod end and one of the old ones on the cap to give it a little more clearance? Other than that the only thing i can think of is taking it back to the machine shop which i really don't want to do at this point.
Greekcj5 is offline  
post #43 of 64 Old 01-23-2013, 12:53 PM Thread Starter
Greekcj5
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ramona
Posts: 106
I just found this web site that says the rod end torque is 35-40. i need to know what the torque should be before i can continue cause if it's 33 I'm 3 ft-lbs low and if it's 35-40 then I'm 5-10 ft-lbs low which makes a huge difference.
Greekcj5 is offline  
post #44 of 64 Old 01-23-2013, 12:58 PM
82JeepCJ7
Registered User
1982 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 5,508
Is there any motor oil on the pistons or are they in there dry?

Beat it to fit, paint it to match!

Wheel, Wrench, Repeat.
82JeepCJ7 is offline  
post #45 of 64 Old 01-23-2013, 01:14 PM Thread Starter
Greekcj5
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ramona
Posts: 106
I loaded each one with assembly lube
Greekcj5 is offline  
Reply

Tags
amc 304 , cj5 , crankshaft , engine rebuild

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome