Questions on buying a jeep - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Questions on buying a jeep

ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wNEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO

Unread 01-09-2006, 12:38 AM   #1
Stewbacca6

Questions on buying a jeep

Hey I am new to Jeeps and Jeepforum. I want to buy an old jeep, fix it up, and offroad the heck out of it. Would a CJ be a good jeep to get for this? I am looking to spend around 1000 dollars. What year should I get. Im not looking to make it into a major offroad beast, I just want to have something to get dirty and beat up. Thanks a lot

Stewbacca6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-09-2006, 12:56 AM   #2
Prospect62

I'll be the first to admit that I don't know half as much as some of the people on this forum. You can take my opinion for what it's worth. However... I've been in the market, looking at, checking out and learning from experience alot lately. Buying a used Jeep (especially a CJ) on a budget may very well be one of the most difficult financial manuvers ever. Not only are they exorbitantly overpriced in the re-sale market, but the cost of decent quality parts to do any sort of repair and modification is through the roof as well. For a Jeep worth spending your time and money on, plus the parts to "do it right" (modifications) $1000 is not going to cut it. You can beleive me, because I tried it. Good luck anyways...as you can see I'm not discouraged. I'm still here, and I'm still on a budget.

If you just want a Jeep to get dirty, and don't need a CJ, check out a Cherokee XJ. They can be had cheap, and parts aren't too bad either. My $.02 - enjoy.
Prospect62 is offline   Reply With Quote