questions about buying a cj7 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > questions about buying a cj7

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineNew jk doors from steinjagerEliminate Hood Flutter!!!

Unread 01-15-2007, 03:46 PM   #1
aggiepaula
2001 WJ 

questions about buying a cj7

Howdy, everybody; I have a question about a Jeep for sale in my town. I'm going to call up the guy selling it tomorrow, but I need advice on what I should ask him.

I'm not gonna have have much time to work on it now (I'm a student and I'm poor) so I'd need something in fairly good condition. If I do buy it, I wouldn't be able to do any work to it immediatly, but if it's the right price then I don't want to miss out on it.
So I'm asking for ideas from y'all on what you would look for in this Jeep if you were in my situation. It's an 85 CJ7 and I haven't really gotten to take a good look at it. It's kind of banged up (missing a side mirror, some dents) and it looks like it has a little rust.

If you have any input or advice, please share!!

-Paula

Unread 01-15-2007, 03:54 PM   #2
LSUtiger
1980 CJ5 

try to test drive it for 30 min or so.
where is the rust and how much
what does the driveline consist of
how much do they want
what do you want to do with the cj? dd or mud or rock????
LSUtiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-15-2007, 03:57 PM   #3
Javelina

Howdy Paula,

Where's this Jeep at, is it here in CS?
Texas Jeep Owners Club Member #51
Javelina is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-15-2007, 04:02 PM   #4
BLS33
Chief of the brain police

1985 CJ7 

Look the frame over real well for rust, and look for any leaks.
BLS33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-15-2007, 04:03 PM   #5
aggiepaula
2001 WJ