Question About Starter Solenoid - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Question About Starter Solenoid

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!

Unread 02-07-2012, 05:44 PM   #1
firedawgsatx
1975 CJ5 

Question About Starter Solenoid

I am a newbie jeep owner. I just acquired my 1975 CJ5 Renegade with the prestolite ignition system. I want to get rid of the prestolite system and install
the system I have seen JeepHammer and others post extensively about. The system I want to do is installing the distributor from a '79 CJ7, an HEI ignition module from a 1979 GM vehicle, an e-coil from a Ford, and etc. I have a pretty good grasp of the parts needed and most of the wiring required to do the upgrade. My question is concerning the wiring to the starter solenoid and the "S" and "I" terminals. I have read many of the schematics JeepHammer has posted and read the wiring schematic the best I can. One of the things I can't figure out is: do I need to connect the light blue wire from the ignition switch to the "S" terminal of the starter solenoid? In the wiring diagram it does seem to show that but I haven't seen it in the diagrams others have posted. It appears that the "I" terminal should have a red wire from the "B" terminal of the ignition module and a wire from splice "G" coming from the ignition switch. Can anyone please enlighten me? Thanks for your assistance!

firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-07-2012, 06:21 PM   #2
mopar408
1974 CJ5