question about driving in third gear. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > question about driving in third gear.

TeraFlex Now at Rockridge 4WD! BEST DEALS around!Alloy usa heavy duty ball joint kitsENGO QUADLUX 6" to 54" LED AMBER AND WHITE MULTI

Unread 06-24-2012, 04:10 PM   #1
jamesc59
1959 CJ5 

question about driving in third gear.

been having a problem when in third gear, after i shift into third gear about maybe a minute in my cj-5 will just start shaking violently, scares the crap out of me everytime, im fairly new to driving stick, so im not to sure if im just not going the correct speed when shifting or ive heard that may be u-joints? anybody have any ideas what may be the cause or anybody with any experience with this?

jamesc59 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-24-2012, 04:43 PM   #2
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler

2004 WJ 

What mph and rpm are you at when it does this?
86cj74.2L is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-24-2012, 04:45 PM   #3
hopefulcj76
1980 CJ7 

Does this only happen in 3rd gear? Do you feel any vibrations in first when you are just getting the jeep move?
hopefulcj76 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-24-2012, 04:51 PM   #4
NExOBLIVISCARIS
1970 CJ5 

only time my cj5 starts shaking violently is when i put it in reverse and it only shakes until the clutch is fully engaged. are you shifting when the engine starts to lug?
Unread 06-24-2012, 05:03 PM   #5
hopefulcj76
1980 CJ7