Quadratrac W/ Manual Hubs - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Quadratrac W/ Manual Hubs

Savvy FOX IFP 4" Lift Shocks in StockSavvy/Currie Aluminum Control ArmsSavvy Aluminum Gas Tank Skid

Reply
Unread 02-26-2002, 10:20 AM   #1
casey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greensboro
Posts: 13
Quadratrac W/ Manual Hubs

I recently purchased a 1977 CJ7 with Quadratrac and manually locking "Sears" hubs. Does anyone know if the Quadratrac is compatible with these hubs. I have been told that these Jeeps should not have manually locking hubs. I also cannot find the catalog that these hubs came from. I have found small exerps from an old Sears Jeep catalog but nothing telling me what I need to know.

casey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-26-2002, 10:37 AM   #2
1911shtr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olathe
Posts: 38
I've never heard anything about not being able to use locking hubs with the warn quadratrac. I you want some goods ones get Warn. Mine are great.
1911shtr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-26-2002, 11:15 PM   #3
jeepdaddy2000
Registered User
1971 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Secret Squirrel hideout, afghanistan
Posts: 6,298
The quadratrack unit is a full time 4x4 unit that uses a limited slip dif carrier in the transfer case.You cannot use locking hubs with the stock system as the diff will allow torque to the front axle which is unlocked. Milemarker makes (made?) an aftermarket part time kit that converts the diff to a part time unit. My guess is that somebody has installed one in your jeep. With the transfer case in the "unlocked " position, (the selector should be on the glove box) lock both hubs in and jack one tire up. If the tire/front driveline spins then you have a part time kit.
jeepdaddy2000 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-26-2002, 11:18 PM   #4
jeepdaddy2000
Registered User
1971 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Secret Squirrel hideout, afghanistan
Posts: 6,298
That is assuming that the front axle diff isn't a limited slip!!!
jeepdaddy2000 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-28-2002, 08:38 PM   #5
RickCJ7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Pa.
Posts: 38
You don't need hubs on the quadratrac, it's fulltime 4wd. If you unlock the hubs your Jeep won't move. Just lock em in and go. It won't hurt any thing.
__________________
Rick OIIIO
RickCJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.