Quadratrac W/ Manual Hubs - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-26-2002, 09:20 AM Thread Starter
casey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greensboro
Posts: 13
Post Quadratrac W/ Manual Hubs

I recently purchased a 1977 CJ7 with Quadratrac and manually locking "Sears" hubs. Does anyone know if the Quadratrac is compatible with these hubs. I have been told that these Jeeps should not have manually locking hubs. I also cannot find the catalog that these hubs came from. I have found small exerps from an old Sears Jeep catalog but nothing telling me what I need to know.

casey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-26-2002, 09:37 AM
1911shtr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olathe
Posts: 38
Post

I've never heard anything about not being able to use locking hubs with the warn quadratrac. I you want some goods ones get Warn. Mine are great.
1911shtr is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-26-2002, 10:15 PM
jeepdaddy2000
Registered User
 
jeepdaddy2000's Avatar
1971 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eagle Point
Posts: 7,024
Post

The quadratrack unit is a full time 4x4 unit that uses a limited slip dif carrier in the transfer case.You cannot use locking hubs with the stock system as the diff will allow torque to the front axle which is unlocked. Milemarker makes (made?) an aftermarket part time kit that converts the diff to a part time unit. My guess is that somebody has installed one in your jeep. With the transfer case in the "unlocked " position, (the selector should be on the glove box) lock both hubs in and jack one tire up. If the tire/front driveline spins then you have a part time kit.

bazinga
jeepdaddy2000 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-26-2002, 10:18 PM
jeepdaddy2000
Registered User
 
jeepdaddy2000's Avatar
1971 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eagle Point
Posts: 7,024
Post

That is assuming that the front axle diff isn't a limited slip!!!

bazinga
jeepdaddy2000 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-28-2002, 07:38 PM
RickCJ7
Registered User
2005 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Pa.
Posts: 211
Post

You don't need hubs on the quadratrac, it's fulltime 4wd. If you unlock the hubs your Jeep won't move. Just lock em in and go. It won't hurt any thing.

Rick OIIIO
RickCJ7 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
locking hubs in quadratrac crazyinmaine Jeep CJ Forum 8 08-26-2009 03:51 PM
Warn Manual Locking Hubs - Newbie Needs Help CJ367 Jeep CJ Forum 9 02-24-2008 10:21 AM
Manual Hubs - 27 spline? ClarkGriswold Jeep CJ Forum 1 04-13-2007 08:49 PM
manual hubs, need help, lots of it Blackjackbender Jeep CJ Forum 21 12-21-2005 08:45 PM
manual locking hubs JpnFirefighter Jeep CJ Forum 12 12-23-2004 07:21 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome