Push Rods - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Push Rods

Bead Lock Wheels! Raceline, Trail Ready, & Trail-GearUCF Black Friday SaleLOCKERS!!!! - ARB, Auburn, Detroit, Eaton, OX, Spartan, Yu

Unread 11-07-2014, 05:45 PM   #1
cj7red
1985 CJ7 

Push Rods

Kind of a mechanical noob here trying to learn. Can somebody tell me why push rods spin while the engine is running? What purpose does that serve? I googled it and didn't find much.

cj7red is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-07-2014, 06:56 PM   #2
RenoF250
1985 CJ7 

To keep it concentric, if it stayed in the same place it would eventually wear oblong. Probably not critical in a pushrod but it matters for the lifters.
RenoF250 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-08-2014, 09:48 AM   #3
gmakra
1985 CJ7 

If you look down the lifter gallery at the camshaft you maybe able to see that the lifters ride on about 50% of the cam lobe. The camshaft is cast iron and the lifters are hardened steel. Cast iron is pretty soft as metals go but it also has some outstanding properties for the application.

Please try to picture in your mind the lifter rides on about 50% of the camshaft, now as the camshaft rotates imagine the lifter spinning on the camshaft because the lifter is rolling on the edge of the camshaft. (almost like a ring and pinon gear)

This is done so that the lifter does not wear away (machining)the camshaft lobe.