Prospective scrambler owner - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Prospective scrambler owner

Dan's Old as Dirt Birthday Sale!GEARSHADE Pocket Tops in stock and available at ROCKRIDGE Yukon Ultimate 35 axle kit for c/clip axles with Yukon Zip

Unread 09-29-2011, 12:38 AM   #1
casey3057
2002 WJ 

Prospective scrambler owner

I have a pair of dana 44's that I have had lingering for a couple of years and finaly found a worthy project. Im fairly new to Jeep in general and even more green when it comes to the older CJ's.
I found a failry clean 81' scrambler that needs some work, motor is bad and it needs a clutch and some electrical gremlins. Knowing nothing about these older Jeeps I was hoping to get some info on things to look out for.
My intended use is moderate to hard rock crawling. I have an 02 WJ that pulls double duty between daily driving and wheelin, and its startin to show its off road miles. I'm just want something that I can drive to the trail and back but doesnt have to be driven everyday.
I plan on a spring over (did one on my FJ60 and loved it)
A pair of ARB's and would like to run 35's. Beyond that, Im open for suggestions.
Its a build that will take some time, but before I pull the trigger on the CJ8, I would like some info.

Minor rust around the wheel wells but other than that, its all there.
asking 2200.00, said to have 144k.

Thanks for the help.

Unread 09-29-2011, 05:32 AM   #2
CJeep
Alpha dog

1982 CJ8 

Most important is the frame. Check for rust and cracks. Most everything else is not so hard to fix, given time and $.

If. The body is solid, that's a bonus.

Depending on how many electrical problems it has, it may be best to rewire the whole thing with a kit.