Proportioner Valve Wire - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Proportioner Valve Wire

Dan's Old as Dirt Birthday Sale!Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!Ruffstuff XJ Unirail Channel Reinforcement....

Reply
Unread 06-28-2013, 02:35 PM   #1
Chlarock
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: carmel, new york
Posts: 70
Proportioner Valve Wire

I ran all new brake lines and installer a new proportioner valve. I went to plug in the valve and find that the valve has one wire connection and the harness wire has two wires. Can this be retro fitted or do I have to replace the prop valve? Its a cj7 with a yj interior so I had to use the yj harness for the transition from engine compartment to interior.

Chlarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-28-2013, 02:42 PM   #2
LumpyGrits
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Mojave Desert Palmdale Ca. U.S.A.
Posts: 4,478
IIRC, 1 wire goes to the p'brake.
LG
LumpyGrits is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-28-2013, 05:17 PM   #3
Ollie09
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ann arbor, MI
Posts: 206
Connector

If the switch has a shroud around the center terminal, then this is the connector you need.

http://inlinetube.com/Prop%20Valves/PR201.htm
Ollie09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-28-2013, 05:54 PM   #4
Chlarock
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: carmel, new york
Posts: 70
Yes, that is what I would need but what wire does it connect to on the two wire harness connection coming from the engine compartment wires?
Chlarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-28-2013, 08:32 PM   #5
Guy Smilie
Member
 
Guy Smilie's Avatar
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Salem County, New Jersey
Posts: 332
I think you just splice the two wires together with the single wire. I say "think" because that's what I did but haven't hooked it up to see if it works yet. I got that info from the experts on here.
Do a search "converting brake pressure switch from 2 wire to 1 wire configuration"
Guy Smilie is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-28-2013, 09:25 PM   #6
Chlarock
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: carmel, new york
Posts: 70
I'll do that search. I also "Think" you may be right so maybe I'll just splice em and see if it works.
Chlarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-29-2013, 07:37 AM   #7
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 12,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Smilie View Post
I think you just splice the two wires together with the single wire. I say "think" because that's what I did but haven't hooked it up to see if it works yet. I got that info from the experts on here.
Do a search "converting brake pressure switch from 2 wire to 1 wire configuration"
Yes, That's all you need to do.

One wire runs to the parking brake and other wire runs to ignition switch.

The ignition switch connection turns on the brake warning light so you know the bulb is working before you drive. It just grounds the circuit momentarily when cranking.
John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.