• 1 Post By Spieg8
  • 1 Post By CrashOdle
  • 1 Post By Spieg8

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-21-2016, 07:01 PM Thread Starter
TrailTrash
1979 CJ5 

Pitman arm hitting steering arm

Just curious if there is an available 'shorter' pitman arm that I can buy to replace the stock one? Currently, my pitman arm comes into contact with the steering arm under heavy suspension travel.

I wish I could tell you what suspension it's got, but I don't really know. I bought it as it sits, and the guy I bought it from got it on a trade for his travel trailer

Is this a common problem?

This is my first Jeep, I'm a bit of a noob... Wanting to learn

Thanks

Last edited by TrailTrash; 05-21-2016 at 07:13 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 05-21-2016, 08:30 PM
y2k-fxst
1964 CJ6 

Upload picture to a service like photobucket then paste links to them in a reply. Hard to even attempt to diagnose without at least some visuals.
TrailTrash likes this.

I own a Harley and a JEEP, still some people can't figure out why I'm broke!
post #3 of 6 Old 05-22-2016, 07:47 AM
Spieg8
1984 CJ8 

I'm, guessing that by "steering arm" you are talking about the tie-rod. If the pitman is hitting the tie-rod under suspension flex, that indicates your front axle has moved forward or the steering gearbox has moved back. Before you go replacing the pitman arm with something shorter (yes there are shorter options), you should try to figure out what is going on (agree that some photos would help).

One increasingly common cause of this is if the front springs have been replaced with YJ springs (YJ spring conversions improve ride comfort but also moves the axle forward about 1/2"). While your taking pictures for us, measure how wide your front leaf springs are (2" = stock CJ width, 2.5" = stock YJ width).