PCV/Vacuum/DS Oil Leak/ HELP! - Page 4 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > PCV/Vacuum/DS Oil Leak/ HELP!

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome Effect

Unread 04-30-2013, 07:44 PM   #46
lucdog
Web Wheeler

1980 CJ5 

Surprised no one has said anything about the lack of oil in the rockers on cylinder 6. Im far from a expert on this, but I think I would crank the engine over, paying close attention to the rockers on #6 cylinder and the push rods. Check for lift with your dial indicator, and possible bent pushrods.

My though is if the exhaust valve isn't opening,( or isn't opening far enough and the intake is, there isn't any place for the air to go except into the crankcase when the piston comes up on the exhaust stroke.

Like Jon, this also may be a WAG, I'm not sure.

Bill

1979 CJ7 360, TH400/Quadratrac trail Jeep.
1979 J20
1980 CJ5 trail Jeep.
1983 CJ7 pretty weekend and sometimes to work Driver in the summer, My first rebuild, if the Q-trac and 5 are broke, this one is the one to take. its just as capable as the other 2, except nice paint.
1984 Grand Wagoneer, 1 ton axles, great 360/727, and a big a$& tree fell on it .
1989 YJ the CJ to YJ conversion.
2005 TJ Rubicon.
2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4, Mrs. LUCDOG's DD.
Lots of parts not for sale, i'm a hoarder.
lucdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-01-2013, 09:20 AM   #47
Big-Jon
1977 CJ5