Not enough 12V Switched sources - Page 2 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 20 Old 01-05-2014, 02:47 PM
WSS
Web Wheeler
 
WSS's Avatar
1972 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chino
Posts: 2,532
The nice thing about what you have for the dash lights is they won't flicker with tramp voltage. LED's work better with a clean input. I get some flicker through my ign. I can wiggle the key and see the dash lights flicker.

WSS is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 20 Old 01-05-2014, 03:02 PM
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 15,506
Personally I would daisy chain the LEDs because there's so little amperage draw. That's just a personal preference. Your plan looks good.
CSP is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 01-05-2014, 04:31 PM
james04si
Senior Member
 
james04si's Avatar
1977 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arlington TX
Posts: 853
Bluesea.com has some great fuse panels if you want to add some circuits to the wiring cleanly. I picked one up just never got around to removing the dash again.
james04si is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 01-06-2014, 05:07 AM
jeepdaddy2000
Registered User
 
jeepdaddy2000's Avatar
1971 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eagle Point
Posts: 7,105
AS CSP stated, LED's draw very little amperage. That being said, the stock light switch should be able to carry them with ease. This would eliminate a second relay and help clean up any extra wiring behind the dash.
jeepdaddy2000 is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 01-06-2014, 08:41 PM Thread Starter
Jester77
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepdaddy2000 View Post
AS CSP stated, LED's draw very little amperage. That being said, the stock light switch should be able to carry them with ease. This would eliminate a second relay and help clean up any extra wiring behind the dash.
According to Autometer (Cory Villani - a tech over at Autometer), all the gauges at full load should be less than 1 amp total. Here's a video that demonstrates the load.


Although the video does not demonstrate the exact same gauges that I have (Phantom II), the current draw will be the same. I think a 4A fuse will be plenty.

I concur, the LEDs will be nothing.

My 1985 CJ-7 Build Thread
Air Force Jeep Club - Tail # 200

"You miss 100% of the shots you don't take." Wayne Gretzky
Jester77 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome