Not enough 12V Switched sources - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Not enough 12V Switched sources

TeraFlex Now at Rockridge 4WD! BEST DEALS around!Alloy usa heavy duty ball joint kitsENGO QUADLUX 6" to 54" LED AMBER AND WHITE MULTI

Reply
Unread 01-05-2014, 02:47 PM   #16
WSS
Registered User
1972 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chino, Ca
Posts: 2,044
The nice thing about what you have for the dash lights is they won't flicker with tramp voltage. LED's work better with a clean input. I get some flicker through my ign. I can wiggle the key and see the dash lights flicker.

WSS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-05-2014, 03:02 PM   #17
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 12,443
Personally I would daisy chain the LEDs because there's so little amperage draw. That's just a personal preference. Your plan looks good.
CSP is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-05-2014, 04:31 PM   #18
james04si
Senior Member
 
james04si's Avatar
1977 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arlington TX
Posts: 851
Bluesea.com has some great fuse panels if you want to add some circuits to the wiring cleanly. I picked one up just never got around to removing the dash again.
james04si is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-06-2014, 05:07 AM   #19
jeepdaddy2000
Registered User
1971 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eagle Point Oregon
Posts: 6,237
AS CSP stated, LED's draw very little amperage. That being said, the stock light switch should be able to carry them with ease. This would eliminate a second relay and help clean up any extra wiring behind the dash.
jeepdaddy2000 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-06-2014, 08:41 PM   #20
Jester77
Rabidus Balatro
 
Jester77's Avatar
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepdaddy2000 View Post
AS CSP stated, LED's draw very little amperage. That being said, the stock light switch should be able to carry them with ease. This would eliminate a second relay and help clean up any extra wiring behind the dash.
According to Autometer (Cory Villani - a tech over at Autometer), all the gauges at full load should be less than 1 amp total. Here's a video that demonstrates the load.


Although the video does not demonstrate the exact same gauges that I have (Phantom II), the current draw will be the same. I think a 4A fuse will be plenty.

I concur, the LEDs will be nothing.
__________________
My 1985 CJ-7 Build Thread
Air Force Jeep Club - Tail # 200

"You miss 100% of the shots you don't take." Wayne Gretzky
Jester77 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.