No Spark and out of ideas, please help! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > No Spark and out of ideas, please help!

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 04-08-2012, 06:37 PM   #1
MarcF1977

No Spark and out of ideas, please help!

Hello, I'm a novice to auto repair and I've tried everything I can think of to get my CJ7 started, and am out of ideas. Its an 86 CJ7, 4.2L. I've replaced the solenoid, starter, ignition module, ignition coil, plugs/wires, distributor, distributor cap/rotor, and the battery. Its turning over, but I'm not getting any spark. Not sure what else I can try replacing. Any of your thoughts or ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Unread 04-08-2012, 06:39 PM   #2
clydegoat
2005 TJ Wrangler 

Have you check to see if your coil is getting power? maybe either way there will help you know if it's before or after that. maybe help
clydegoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2012, 06:41 PM   #3
LT1CJ7
1983 CJ7 

Check the ecm fuse.
I bought a super clean all original CJ7 for dirt cheap because it didn't run.
The owner took it to three shops which they could not find the problem.
They also replaced every part like you did.
A 20 cent fuse and I was cruising.
I think it was a 3amp fuse labeled lights or cluster.
LT1CJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2012, 06:56 PM   #4
pman
Web Wheeler

1988 YJ Wrangler 

I once had a similar issue on my Wagoneer...ended up being the ignition switch located midway down the steering column under the dash. It would crank, but I wasn't getting fire.
82 CJ8 Scrambler 258-t5-Dana 300
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/cj...-lulu-1350563/
pman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2012, 09:46 PM   #5
BagusJeep