No power to only one fuse - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > No power to only one fuse

End of Summer Sale, 20% OFF!2007 - 2011 Jeep JK Long Arm Lift KitsIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Reply
Unread 11-06-2013, 08:36 PM   #1
Jermy01
Registered User
1978 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Santa Barbara, ca
Posts: 205
No power to only one fuse

Hey guys,

I've been MIA for the past 5 or so years, but i finally got around to rebuilding and swaping in a T-18, got 'er running again and I'm stoked to be cruising the jeep again!!!

Anyway, i noticed my fuel gauge, temp gauge, and radio turned on for about 10 mins, and since then have all been dead. So I did some trouble shooting and found out the fuse which supplies those circuits is not getting power from the fuse block. (of course i tried multiple fuses, just not getting any voltage on either side of the fuse terminal which key is on). I saw pulling the fuse block is pretty simple, but have not done it yet. Once i get the fuse block out, how do i reconnect / or replace the terminals? Do they solder in? screw in?

My fuses are the tube fuse variety (little glass cylinder)

any help would be nice.

Thanks guys, its nice to be back

__________________
-Jeremy

1978 CJ7, front and rear locker, 31'' BFG mud Terrain, superior axles. RE 2.5" lift. 304 V8. Warn M8000.
Jermy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2013, 09:20 PM   #2
EgulAye
°||||°
 
EgulAye's Avatar
1980 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mechanic Falls, Maine
Posts: 557
I don't have and haven't seen any photos of the AGC fuse block. The ATC style is like this photo:

Each circuit is a single piece of metal, with the connectors molded at each location. Then it just locks into the back of the block. If the rest of the circuit is working then perhaps there is a corroded connection?

At 12V test light is the best tool for checking most of these types of issues.
__________________
Builds \ CJ 1980 CJ5, w/ a 232 and Carter YF

Do you give the Jeep wave at night when they can't see you?
EgulAye is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2013, 09:42 PM   #3
BagusJeep
Web Wheeler
 
BagusJeep's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bali, Indonesia
Posts: 4,401
Check your wiring diagarm, the radio should not be on the same circuit as the gauges.
__________________
BagusJeep lives in Bali, the Land of Temples.
With a Jeep every prayer counts.

1981 CJ7 258ci - Bagusjeep
1984 CJ7 258ci - Puthijeep
1981 J20 258ci - Gladys
1995 Cherokee 4.0 - CHEROKEE
BagusJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2013, 09:44 PM   #4
Jermy01
Registered User
1978 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Santa Barbara, ca
Posts: 205
ok, that helps. Ill take it out and do some further testing.

Thanks for the pic
__________________
-Jeremy

1978 CJ7, front and rear locker, 31'' BFG mud Terrain, superior axles. RE 2.5" lift. 304 V8. Warn M8000.
Jermy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2013, 09:54 PM   #5
EgulAye
°||||°
 
EgulAye's Avatar
1980 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mechanic Falls, Maine
Posts: 557
Look up a wiring diagram for your Jeep, there is a yellow ACC feed from the ignition switch that feeds the accessories (I think). If those "switched" items are all down then perhaps it's the source. I think JeepHammer has references to those diagrams in his Basic Wiring 101 thread. Between the Engine and Chassis diagrams look at the ignition switch and wire "67A Yellow 12". Use the test light to trace the circuit back until you've got power.
__________________
Builds \ CJ 1980 CJ5, w/ a 232 and Carter YF

Do you give the Jeep wave at night when they can't see you?
EgulAye is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2013, 09:57 PM   #6
Jermy01
Registered User
1978 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Santa Barbara, ca
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by BagusJeep View Post
Check your wiring diagarm, the radio should not be on the same circuit as the gauges.
HMMM, my Chilton's manual doesn't even show the radio in the '78 diagram. Maybe someone before me wired the radio into a different circuit. Either way, I am still not getting any power to the fuse in which the radio is wired to. I will double check which fuse the gauges are wired to before i pull the box apart.
__________________
-Jeremy

1978 CJ7, front and rear locker, 31'' BFG mud Terrain, superior axles. RE 2.5" lift. 304 V8. Warn M8000.
Jermy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-06-2013, 10:12 PM   #7
BagusJeep
Web Wheeler
 
BagusJeep's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bali, Indonesia
Posts: 4,401
You should have a seperate circuit for it and a 10 Amp fuse, the gauges should only have a 3 amp fuse.

I do have a sketch of a mid 70s fuse box and there is a seperate plug in point for the radio in the middle on the left side. No saying if this is right but it should be noted that in the mid 70s radios were attached to the ACC feed from the switch and the gauges were on the Run feed. It was only with digital radios that a connection to permanent power was needed to keep the memory alive.
__________________
BagusJeep lives in Bali, the Land of Temples.
With a Jeep every prayer counts.

1981 CJ7 258ci - Bagusjeep
1984 CJ7 258ci - Puthijeep
1981 J20 258ci - Gladys
1995 Cherokee 4.0 - CHEROKEE
BagusJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-07-2013, 03:24 AM   #8
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 13,007
Usually the riveted bus bars behind the fuse box corrodes and you loose connection.
You could drill out the rivet and clean it up and use a screw to re-connect it.

Could also be a wire popped off the bus.

Here is a picture of part of the back


John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-07-2013, 12:19 PM   #9
keithcj-7
Registered User
1978 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: santa clarita, California
Posts: 46
I just got done chasing that same problem and it turned out to be a rusted fuse holder for the gauges. Keep on it you will find it!
keithcj-7 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.