No high RPM power - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > No high RPM power

USA Standard Chromoly Front Axle Shaft Kits with Dana 30 4Warrior Products @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955Advance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 05-06-2013, 05:51 PM   #1
CJKevin1978
1984 CJ7 

No high RPM power

I just got this Jeep (258, 3 speed auto, weber 38, HEI) and it seems a little flat at high RPM. It also stumbles a little as the secondary opens. I can hear it drawing lots of air but it doesn't make much more power than it does just before the secondary opens.

I am a rookie with webers but I am at 2.25 out on the idle mixture and barely touching on the idle speed screw. I have 160/170 on the air corrector jets, 75/60 idle jets and I see the main jets on the exploded drawing but I don't know where to find them. I have some carb experience with Mikunis on PWC but very little automotive carb experience. So I am no expert but carb basics are not new to me.

Having said all that. My concern is that my ignition is not remaining advanced. The last time I dealt at all with vacuum advance was over 20 years ago and never had to troubleshoot it even then. When the Jeep is parked I can operate the throttle by hand while watching the advance mechanism. Immediately when I open the throttle, it will advance but then it fall back while the engine is still accelerating. My theory is that the same thing happens on the road causing it to be flat above ~3K RPM. The vac line is currently connected at the base of the carb and I have not yet tried to adjust the advance curve. I wanted to see if the advance movement I have is normal.