Newbie Here! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Newbie Here!

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineYear End Clearance Sale! Save 20%NEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!!

Unread 09-10-2012, 02:30 PM   #1
swilliford
1976 CJ5 

Newbie Here!

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the boards and will hopefully be buying my first jeep this week. Looking for some opinions on the jeep I am looking at. I have found a 76' CJ-5 that appears to be in pretty good shape and running for $3000.

swilliford is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-10-2012, 02:43 PM   #2
mopar346
1984 CJ7 

Welcome to the forum, you have come to the right place for CJ knowledge and ...................ummmm, opinions. We definitely have those but all in good fun. From the initial look I'd say it's probably worth 3k, but more pictures and info will help establish a value. Rust is one of the biggest issues with these things, check for previous repair areas in the floors, rockers, rear body corners and ESPECIALLY the frame around the spring hangers worse in the rear. Go over it with a fine tooth comb from underneath and every conceiveable top side angle.The more detail you can give us about running gear would be helpful as well (engine, trans, axles, gears) including any upgrades (distributor, lockers, etc).

Again, welcome read a lot and feel free to add what you can.
Unread 09-10-2012, 02:58 PM   #3
swilliford
1976 CJ5