new/old cj - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > new/old cj

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy Aluminum BumpersThe RuffStuff "I can't go to EJS" Sale!

Unread 01-17-2002, 08:26 AM   #1
bodi

new/old cj

Hello,
I am new to hte group. I have had three yj's in the past and go trid of them (too much like a car) about a month ago i bought a 1983 cj7 that looked in good shape. paid $1800 because previous owner was being transfered and needed to sell quickly. took it to a shop to be checked over. had to replace rear axle and change all fluids as it had been driven a total of 167 miles in 2 1/2 years. i also had power steering put on it. i then took it to a mechanic to work on engine. someone before had put a holley carb 500cfm on it. too big for 258 I6 so i had a 1980 rebuilt carter put on it. now it runs so much better. just found out that th eprevious owner told me it was a 4 speed and it is a 5 speed. hope to keep all informed of changes to it in the following months and years.

83 CJ7 w/remanufactured jasper 258 I6 w/t-5, Weber carb, new exhaust, PS, PB, 2 1/2" Lift, 31" BFG's, herculined interior and s**t brown paint job (for now) "in to deep..but thats when it starts getting fun"
Brown Jeep Club Member #2
bodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-17-2002, 08:34 AM   #2
Mackddy6

Just out of curiousity...how did the previous owner not know how many gears it had?
Mackddy6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-17-2002, 09:04 AM   #3
bodi

Quote:
Originally posted by Mackddy6:
Just out of curiousity...how did the previous owner not know how many gears it had?