New Leaf Springs? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > New Leaf Springs?

Bead Lock Wheels! Raceline, Trail Ready, & Trail-GearUCF Black Friday SaleLOCKERS!!!! - ARB, Auburn, Detroit, Eaton, OX, Spartan, Yu

Unread 07-04-2009, 02:45 PM   #1
jeeprookie47
1966 CJ5 

New Leaf Springs?

Im working on a 1966 CJ5 and in my opinion (im not a car expert) the leaf springs probably need to get replaced. Is this true, should I get new ones? Also, those are 5 leaf, could I replace them with 9 leaf, and if so what are the advantages/disadvantages?

jeeprookie47 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-04-2009, 03:37 PM   #2
thantos858
Web Wheeler
1974 CJ5 

You can take them to a shop and have them rearched and fixed if theres any problems. Running more springs means a harder ride. I personally don't see anything really wrong with those but I could be wrong. If your wanting new springs order a OEM replacement set from one of the manufactures that do lifts.
thantos858 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-04-2009, 03:44 PM   #3
nshefbuch
1982 CJ7 

those leafs look pretty good. only problem is having only 5 leafs. i have a 62 cj5 and wish mine looked that good. my leafs are flat.
nshefbuch is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-04-2009, 03:51 PM   #4
jeeprookie47
1966 CJ5 

Thanks a lot guys. I thought that the bottom 2 leafs, being flat might be a problem. I will probably just wire wheel them, and then paint them. Thanks for the advice.
Unread 07-04-2009, 05:45 PM   #5
jeeprookie47
1966 CJ5 

Quote:
Originally Posted by nshefbuch View Post
those leafs look pretty good. only problem is having only 5 leafs. i have a 62 cj5 and wish mine looked that good. my leafs are flat.