New to Jeep's, new to me CJ5. First steps? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > New to Jeep's, new to me CJ5. First steps?

RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy/Currie Aluminum Control Arms

Unread 02-14-2012, 10:03 AM   #1
ShowroomShine
1998 TJ Wrangler 

New to Jeep's, new to me CJ5. First steps?

Hello all. I'm new to Jeeps and traded into this 1976 CJ5. It has the 258ci 3-spd and some previous owners "custom" modifications.

It has not even been off the trailer yet, but I have a few questions before I start.

It obviously needs work, but it does run and drive and operates decent enough for its condition. I'm not looking to do a full on resto or pour a ton of money into. Just something to piddle with and fix up good enough to ride around the farm and some short trips (less than 20 miles).

I'm thinking first off do an oil, air and diff fluid change. I was thinking of doing a drain/fill on the transmission, however I'm not quite as confident with transmission work as I should be and I worry if putting in new fluid could cause new problems.

I'd like to remove the SOA lift and go down to 31" tires from the current 33's. I'd ideally like to keep the 2" shackle lift for some sort of lift, but the SOA seems to be a terrible way to lift a jeep from what I'm reading.

The wiring in the jeep seems to be a little on the "rigged" side. Turn signals and dash lights dont work, nor does the factory speedo or gas gauge.