New to the Jeep world - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > New to the Jeep world

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 01-04-2013, 12:07 PM   #1
Huenowit
1977 CJ7 

New to the Jeep world

I am very new to the Jeep world and I have a 16 year old son that loves to work on cars. We just purchased a 1977 Jeep CJ7 as a project. It has a 304 AMC engine but has no transmission or transfer case. The orginal transmission was the automatic Quadratrac. I do not know what the axles are yet. We live in Colorado and plan on using it in the mountains, but are not looking to rock crawl or get to extreme with it. With this set up, what transmission/transfer case should I be looking for?

Thanks for the help.

Huenowit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-04-2013, 12:43 PM   #2
waterdowg
1984 CJ7 

I would look for a T176 4 speed transmission and Dana 300 transfer case if you are looking for manual trans. If you looking for a automatic I don't know much about those.
waterdowg is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-04-2013, 01:03 PM   #3
hp_lovecraft
1981 CJ5 

the quadratrak jeeps used a special offset rear end. so you might end up having to replace that as well. fortunetly, NT amc20s are common, and its a good time to put in something better like a dana 44
hp_lovecraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-04-2013, 01:16 PM   #4
Huenowit
1977 CJ7 

Thanks

We are going to put a manual transmission in it...and we figured we would have to replace the axles. Thanks for the advice.
Unread 01-04-2013, 01:58 PM   #5
dg6772
1986 CJ7