New jeep and new to wrenching HELP - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > New jeep and new to wrenching HELP

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineToxic Brakes - 3000 PSI Braided Stainless Steel Brake LineCess Recovery Gear Snatch Tow Strap OffRoad @ ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 07-23-2014, 07:21 PM   #1
zsquared1
1977 CJ7 

New jeep and new to wrenching HELP

So this is kind of an intro and a question rolled into rolled into one post so bear with me here. My background is that I grew up in a jeep family and helped my dad convert a junk cj2a into an MB when i was a kid so I know a bit about jeeps. Im pretty mechanically inclined and I'm learning how to be a crew chief in the Air Force. So I just got out of Basic and of course, I had to buy a jeep, a used 1977 cj7 in pretty good shape. It runs great and I'm in love with it. here is my question. The jeep runs great and starts fine but randomly the fuel pump stops pulling fuel from the tank. It has two fuel pumps for whatever reason the mechanical one and an electronic one. I disconnected the fuel line into to electronic pump and it has suction but no fuel is being pulled into it. Any insight, advice is welcome as is any other random facts about wrenching on jeeps ext.
Thanks in advance

zsquared1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-23-2014, 07:55 PM   #2
RenoF250
1985 CJ7 

Sounds like you may have some junk floating around in the tank that is occasionally blocking the pickup.
RenoF250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-23-2014, 08:05 PM   #3
zsquared1
1977 CJ7 

How would I go about getting the junk out of the tank...drop the tank and then...?
Unread 07-23-2014, 11:03 PM   #4
BagusJeep
Web Wheeler

1981 CJ7