New and have questions - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > New and have questions

Rampage Bowless Soft Top Oconee offroadAlloy USA Still AvailableAdvance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 02-22-2013, 11:55 PM   #1
Newbjeep
1972 CJ5 

New and have questions

Hello all I am new to the jeep work bought my self a 72 cj5 it has the 304 and is a 3 speed it has 33 inch tires locked rear axle and has almost no rust and a good paint job I was just wondering what crusing speed it will do with out being to high in the rpms

Last edited by Newbjeep; 02-23-2013 at 12:05 AM..
Newbjeep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-23-2013, 07:07 AM   #2
Oily
1985 CJ7 

Welcome to the forum.
Your RPMs will depend on the gears in your rear and front differentials.
With 33" tires, I would hope that the gears have already been changed.
Oily is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-23-2013, 10:11 AM   #3
Newbjeep
1972 CJ5 

I would guess no one has changed the gears
Unread 02-23-2013, 10:19 AM   #4
Newbjeep
1972 CJ5 

This is it
image.jpg  
Unread 02-23-2013, 11:34 AM   #5
Schzap
1984 CJ7 

Ok so you need to find out what you have in it. Crawl under and around looking for numbers on each piece of drive train, mine (84 cj7 stock ish) has a t176-dana 300-amc20 axle...looking up each one I found what gears I have, then use a website like....
http://www.grimmjeeper.com/gears.html
And plug in your numbers.
Hope this helps, I did it for fun, and I doubt ill ever do 85 MPH in it...but math says with 31's I can. Yeah not happening, but 3mph at idle...yeah I can crawl like that
Schzap is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-23-2013, 11:37 AM   #6
Schzap
1984 CJ7