My name is Mud - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > My name is Mud

Eliminate Hood Flutter!!!WJ Shackle Tabs: Tow-Hook Replacements2014 Spartan Locker Special - While Supplies Last! Dana 3

Unread 10-11-2013, 07:57 AM   #16
texasdave

1980 CJ7 

Be careful of running in 4wd on dry pavement you can pop the front axle if you get a little squirrely with the clutch.

texasdave is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-11-2013, 07:57 AM   #17
2Xtreme
Web Wheeler

1979 CJ7 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Echo6CJ View Post
Thanks for the flame free answer. I acknowledge I am a novice and my mistake left me with egg(or mud) only face

I did the same thing with my first 4WD.
Except I was on a small beach on our local tidal river - and the tide was coming in....

Thankfully I found the sticker on the visor that told me how to operate the 4WD system....
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-11-2013, 08:08 AM   #18
jdarg
2006 LJ Wrangler 

Your wife is right. If you were going fast enough you probably could have made it, even in 2wd. Of course "fast enough" might have been 80mph.

Just keep in mind even 4wd often won't get you through deep mud that touches the undercarriage or axle tubes. The tires can't overcome the drag and you end up digging yourself in deeper. This is one major cause of Jeep disease, where people start dumping thousands into lifting and locking their rigs to make them 'mo better offroad.
jdarg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-11-2013, 01:56 PM   #19
MojoMark
1986 CJ7 

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Xtreme View Post

I did the same thing with my first 4WD.