MC 2100 mixture screws?? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > MC 2100 mixture screws??

Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 12-28-2009, 05:59 PM   #1
EngChase
1980 CJ7 

MC 2100 mixture screws??

I know I'm a noob, so just bear with me here. I have a 1980 CJ7 w/ a 258 with a MC 2100 1.08 carb. It runs a bit rich right now, particularly at start up, so I tried adjusting the mixture screws. I have turned the screws all the way in (clockwise) and it doesn't affect the idle, still runs like it has 2 turns out at 600 rpm. Shouldn't it begin to starve the engine? Is there another issue? I haven't opened up the carb to see what size jets I have yet. Any help would be appreciated.

EngChase is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-28-2009, 07:07 PM   #2
JeepHammer
Running On Empty...
1973 CJ5 

Blown power valve and vacuum leaks.

Blown power valve will supply fuel to the engine when the idle mixture screws are closed off.
Screwing the idle mixture screws 'IN' is one of the ways to test the power valve in an MC 2100 that is pretty darned effective!

Power valve is located UNDER the float bowl, so taking the carb off is already in your stars...

Consider a rebuild,
About $13 to $18 for the rebuild kit,
Another $20 or so for the cleaning chemicals.

GET SAFETY GLASSES WITH LOTS OF PROTECTION!
YOU WILL GET CARB/BRAKE CLEANER IN YOUR FACE AND THEY WILL TAKE YOUR EYES IN A HEART BEAT!

You DO NOT have to remove the throttle valve (butterfly) linkage to rebuild the carb!
Just clean it in place and leave it alone.

Make sure you take the internal passage restrictions out so you can clean the passages!