JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   Jeep CJ Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/)
-   -   Looking at buying this CJ, what's the skinny? (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/looking-buying-cj-whats-skinny-1554733/)

MGoers 07-28-2013 12:34 PM

Looking at buying this CJ, what's the skinny?

Hey ya'll,

Thinking about buying this CJ but am curious about the axles. Seller says they're stock. Want to make sure I'm not getting in over my head. Been doing a bit of reading about them, and obviously the 44's are the way to go, but I don't know if it would be in the cards for a while. How are the stock axles and what would it take to make them worthy? Not too much crazy wheelin here but I'd like it to be capable. Those 37's concern me a bit, also! I'm pretty new to building Jeeps and a complete noob to CJs.

What do you think?

http://wilmington.craigslist.org/cto/3948217986.html

LumpyGrits 07-28-2013 12:44 PM

Seller is on drugs.:thumbsup:
If you want to get any Jeep CJ. Hope your good at turn'n a wrench.
LG

MGoers 07-28-2013 12:46 PM

I can hold my own :)

On drugs price-wise I'm assuming?

LumpyGrits 07-28-2013 12:49 PM

YUP, and no driveline detail is a 'red-flag'.
Ask seller some drive line detail questions and why he thinks it's worth that price(it ain't).
LG

nicksdiner 07-28-2013 01:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LumpyGrits (Post 15727890)
Seller is on drugs.:thumbsup:
If you want to get any Jeep CJ. Hope your good at turn'n a wrench.
LG

I'm in the process of getting a cj delivered. What are you saying that all cjs are problematic or they are always breaking down. I'm curious is all.

1984CJ 07-28-2013 04:08 PM

I would say that most CJ's by now are somewhat problematic or have been completely overhauled.