Lifts, why are they so confusing? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Lifts, why are they so confusing?

Brand New! Quadratec LED Headlights!FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 08-20-2014, 02:25 PM   #1
json1123
1979 CJ7 

Lifts, why are they so confusing?

One small word, lift, so many questions. The more I read, so many differing of opinions, I'm having a hard time keeping track of it all.

For starters I'm still a noob, this will be my first lift purchase/install for context. I don't have a problem with doing work, but the
more challenging the work (e.g. welding,etc) I am hoping to avoid in the short run, but not entirely against it.

As far as stance/looks go, I prefer a 4" lift on 33's. I will be doing mostly fire roads with an occasional trip somewhere more aggressive.

My set up: 1979 Jeep CJ7, 258 with T-150, Dana 30 and AMC 20 running 33's, and stock gearing which I know will require a change)

Lift Options under consideration are 2.5" lift, 2.5" + 1" body lift, or 4"lift:

From what I understand the impacts of each are:

2.5" lift:
required:
- install
- enjoy
possible/optional:
- tie rod flip or drop pitman arm (and is 1 better than the other? I have read that the drop pitman arm is a tad shorter than the stock one. This will result in a slight loss of turning radius and a bit of play in the steering wheel.)
- alignment (+ camber & castor corrections)
- extended brake lines

2.5" + 1" body lift:
- same as above + I have read as long as you go with, for example a Daystar 1" kit you should be ok with no extra mods, but the following I have seen mentioned.
- Extend the clutch linkaget? What about longer radiator hoses, relocating fan shroud, etc....?