Knox's Definitive Cater BBD (No stepper) Vacuum Line Help Thread - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Knox's Definitive Cater BBD (No stepper) Vacuum Line Help Thread

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHut

Reply
Unread 06-27-2013, 07:38 PM   #16
INowUnderstand
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Angelo, Texas
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by INowUnderstand View Post
Also your fuel filter is upside down. Return line shiukd be uovat 12 oclock. It is the nipple on outside toward carb
Return line should be up at 12 o'clock. Sorry. On the phone.

INowUnderstand is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-27-2013, 07:42 PM   #17
INowUnderstand
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Angelo, Texas
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by INowUnderstand View Post
Looked at my jeep. Looks like you don't have air cleaner dampner that closes off when jeep is off. Is just keeps fumes from coming out air cleaner from carb.
Closer inspection of pic looks like vacuum switch or whatever you call it was removed. Make sure there is no dampner door still there. It is close to the filter body.
INowUnderstand is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-27-2013, 08:43 PM   #18
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
-86CJ7 are you talking about this?
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
Yeah, don't even try to match up a BBD with a stepper BBD. there were a lot of changes in emissions laws between those years. Plus the added bonus of infant computer control.

Do you have an aluminum intake or steel intake? Makes a difference.

Here is a great link.
http://www.autozone.com/autozone/rep...46822&cmpid=cj


Here is a picture from that page:


Notice this was one of those years that the distibutor vacuum advance switched between maifold vacuum and ported vacuum depending upon engine temp.

Basically the thing to remember is, the EGR has to be connected ported vacuum and the CTO.
If so do the M, S, and E, mean somthing to that effect? M would stand for manifold but S and E?

Inowunderstand- do you mean that i should rotate the fuel filter or change the places of the hoses? Also what does the air cleaner dampener look like?

Thanks everyone this is really helping!
-Knox
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-27-2013, 08:50 PM   #19
INowUnderstand
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Angelo, Texas
Posts: 226
On the filter rotate it around. The center nipple should go to carb. The return line nipple should be on top. This keeps gas from siphoning off down return line.

The air cleaner has these little trapdoors. One covers the exhaust tube coming in from the bottom and should open when cold to let in exhaust to warm up. It then closes. The other trapdoor was close to the filter and hung closed until you start motor and was sucked up to open air flow. The silver cup looking thing is what pulls the trapdoors open. They are just little metal door things
INowUnderstand is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-27-2013, 09:57 PM   #20
GuacaTex
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 78
Parts store won't know what a CTO is. Tell them you need a Ported Vacuum Switch.

S = Spark Ported

E = Emissions Ported ("E" Ported)

- GT
GuacaTex is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-27-2013, 11:15 PM   #21
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
UPDATE: I bought a new fuel filter (just because im already messing around with it) and rotated it so that the return was 12 o'clock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by INowUnderstand View Post
C- is ported I have it attached to CTO- that runs EGR and ported signal from evap canister
B- is manifold have hooked to air clear dampners
A- is capped on mine- I think it is manifold
D runs is a thermal switch I think and runs from the dampner on air cleaner that controls the exhaust coming in from the tube
E is a thermal switch the comes from CTO then to EGR
F is the dampner that open to let exhaust in during start up. Cant tell but mine has another dampner on air cleaner that block off intake to filter when engine is off-
both air clearner lines T together then tie into port B on mine
My dizzy advance is on manifold off the brake booster line. I think sometimes it is hooked into C.
COuld use A maybe?

Get a Vacuum pump/gauge it will help a lot
ported vacuum= 0 at idle and increases with throttle. ports located above throttle pplate
Manifold Vacuum= should be 18-20 at idle and falls with throttle- located below throttle plate

that all for now.

check out Advneture under the hood- esp for air cleaner operation
The way that my Jeep is now:
A- Goes to a canister of some sort that is connected immediately after the air pump.
B- Goes to the "Purge Signal" port on what I think is the vacuum canister.
C- Goes to the dizzy advance.
Everything else is not connected to anything.
EGR is capped

Does the EGR do anything except improve emissions?
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-28-2013, 04:17 AM   #22
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 7,158
It helps control detonation. But needs that temp operated vacuum switch so its not active until engine is warm.

And yes I was referring to the picture John posted.
86cj74.2L is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-28-2013, 12:37 PM   #23
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
Is it possible that having the EGR not hooked up could cause a flutter in the engine at high rpms? Kind of like its loosing a little bit of power?

-Knox
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-28-2013, 12:58 PM   #24
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 7,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnoxButler
Is it possible that having the EGR not hooked up could cause a flutter in the engine at high rpms? Kind of like its loosing a little bit of power?

-Knox
Not unless its leaking by. If your choke is not fully open when warmed up it will cause a rich condition. Its the first thing you should fix.

The EGR is 100% serviceable. As long as the diaphram isnt ripped, You can take it completely apart clean everything up and put it back together.
86cj74.2L is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-28-2013, 01:42 PM   #25
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
The choke is open all the way when I get the flutter.
When I start the engine from cold, the idle is smooth but rpms any higher start to make the engine "flutter" or shake. After the engine warms up it only happens in the higher rpms, just before I shift into a higher gear. Maybe that's a clue to the problem.
I don't think its the EGR, iv moved the diaphragm back and forth and it felt solid. Do you think it would be worth messing with it just in case?

-Knox
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-30-2013, 08:36 PM   #26
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
UPDATE: I rebuilt the carb as Jon In Tucson advised and it worked beautifully! Smooth idle and smooth at high rpms.

However I still have yet to do a full replacement of the vacuum lines because of a lack of a CTO or "ported vacuum switch" as a great deal of the important things were routed to it or from it. So I have ordered the part from Autozone and as soon as it gets here ill set to work on replacing all the lines.

-Knox
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-30-2013, 09:40 PM   #27
83vert
Registered User
1982 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 807
image-719820123.jpg

This is the pic I was talking about. You may need to zoom in
__________________
I am in deep
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/how-did-happen-rebuild-1113470/
83vert is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-30-2013, 10:02 PM   #28
Jon In Tucson
Jesus Is Lord!
 
Jon In Tucson's Avatar
1983 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnoxButler View Post
UPDATE: I rebuilt the carb as Jon In Tucson advised and it worked beautifully! Smooth idle and smooth at high rpms.

However I still have yet to do a full replacement of the vacuum lines because of a lack of a CTO or "ported vacuum switch" as a great deal of the important things were routed to it or from it. So I have ordered the part from Autozone and as soon as it gets here ill set to work on replacing all the lines.

-Knox
Great to hear Knox!
I have a 2 port CTO that was on my '83. I replaced it with the 4/5 port CTO when I did the TBI upgrade. You're welcome to it if you want it. Glad to see you are a member, best money I ever spent on my CJ. God bless.

Jon In Tucson
__________________
Jeremiah 17:7 "But blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence in Him."

"The secret to a Jeep, especially a CJ, is you can't
panic." - Mike

"I may not be a smart man, Jenny, but I do know grounds."
Jon In Tucson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-01-2013, 09:54 AM   #29
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
83vert- Im going to try and search for that thread so I can read it as well.
Jon-Thank you as well! I'v ordered the 4/5 port CTO but I appreciate your offer! Im happy to have become a member too! So much more usable now. Im sure ill be needing your help with something once i start working through the vacuum lines.

-Knox
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
carter , cj7 , help needed , vaccuum lines

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.