Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

KConnor's build thread...

3K views 38 replies 7 participants last post by  JeepdaddyRC 
#1 ·
Ok guys,

I am finishing up my build, and starting to have enough questions that i figured i needed a real build thread so that i didn't have to nickel and dime the forum with a thousand different threads to answer (mostly for you guys) easy questions.

Background is i'm not a mechanic in any way shape or form, in fact i spend my day working on people, not automobiles, but i've always liked working on cars/trucks and jeeps rock. Always wanted one growing up, never got one cause ma and pa said they were to dangerous and would flip over. Given the amount of speeding tix i got long ago, there may have been some truth to that.

Anyway, now i got one, and i (and most likely eveyone else in this section) thinks the CJ is the best looking Jeep that was ever produced by AMC/jeep. Something about square headlights that were never appealing.

My goal for this project was to tear down my midwest jeep (=rust), and basically just restore it with a small (2.5") lift and larger tires.

I started this project 4 years ago, but 3.5 of it was taken off having another kid, and buying into my business, moving....etc. Now my wife says i gotta finish it, which to me is permission to spend time here without getting yelled at. >:)

The rig is a 1978 CJ7 from Wisconsin, only 40k original miles on it, when i got it, it was almost completely stock, and originally had a factory plow on it? (did they come from the factory with a plow?....cause some of the stickers on the dash vin talk about the plow and they appear to be factory).

Here is how she sat when i bought it in 2008

See less See more
#2 ·
So, 1st things first....i jacked it up 2.5" with a 0.5" shackle lift and put 33's on it. And i also rebuilt the carter YF carb and it ran great.

Then i drove it around for a few months.....not too bad.

#3 ·