Ignition upgrade (Team Rush?) - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Ignition upgrade (Team Rush?)

Rough Country Deals at JeepHut.comSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft topsUp to $75 Cash Back on Your ARB Fridge Freezer Purchase

Unread 03-14-2010, 08:06 AM   #1
197JeepRenegade
1975 CJ5 

Ignition upgrade (Team Rush?)

Hello. New here.

I looked around and found some info on this, but nothing specific to my year and engine, so if I may:

I have a 1975 CJ-5 with a 304. It has the factory electronic ignition. I have read several things about upgrading it, and have some questions.

What I would like to do is upgrade to a better electronic ignition. I have some basic skills, but I'm no mechanic. My Jeep runs pretty good now, but hoping for a little better with the upgrade.

Was thinking of going HEI, but I have heard that the gears are harder and will destroy the AMC gear.

What is the best way to upgrade this? I can afford a couple hundred bucks. I really need an easy bolt in with minimal wiring changes so that I don't screw it up. Is there a kit that would work for me? Heard about Team Rush, but googled the website and found nothing. Most of what I have found is for the I-6 and later 304's that came with a different dizzy than mine. Any help would be much appreciated, I would really like to do this swap. I take the Jeep on lots of long trips and would like a reliable setup.

thanx much!

197JeepRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-14-2010, 09:37 AM   #2
JeepHammer
Running On Empty...
1973 CJ5 

Quote:
Originally Posted by 197JeepRenegade View Post
Hello. New here.

I looked around and found some info on this, but nothing specific to my year and engine, so if I may: