Ignition Problems, No Spark, Need Help - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Ignition Problems, No Spark, Need Help

Ledlight bar light locks @ oconee off road 706 534 9955Don't forget the Jeep Forum discount, 10% off!The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!

Unread 04-28-2014, 12:47 AM   #1
pebo
1983 CJ7 

Ignition Problems, No Spark, Need Help

This is my first post and im a little new to the car building thing so im having some serious trouble figuring out how to get it started. any ways, i have no spark, i tried doing the test when you pull the spark plug out and touch it to the engine block and look for a spark when cranking, but there is none. but when i do the same test on the coil (put spark plug in boot from coil to distributor) i get a orange spark. so i feel like it is something towards the distributor side or something i set up wrong. Almost all the electrical is new, new harness, new spark plugs, and i did the team rush upgrade, but did not get a performance ignition module, but is still new (there was no spark with the old cap and rotor). One thing i did notice though is that the number one spark wire slot on the distributor is at like 8 or 7 o'clock but i have seen a lot of diagrams and the number one is at 6 o'clock. I have also done nutter bypass

photo-1.jpg

photo-2.jpg

photo-3.jpg

pebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-28-2014, 01:19 AM   #2
Tyger78
1984 CJ7 

I can't blow the picture up, but your vacuum advance nipple should pretty much be pointing at the center of your grill...... Is the distributor installed in the correct position?
Unread 04-28-2014, 01:25 AM   #3
Tyger78
1984 CJ7 

I understand that it doesn't matter how it's installed as long as it's wired up correctly. What I meant was: