if you had this cj7 frame, how would you build it? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > if you had this cj7 frame, how would you build it?

ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wWarn, Smitybilt, Engo, Rugged Ridge Winches at CCORRough Country Lift Kits and Parts!

Unread 04-20-2010, 09:44 PM   #1
CrankyD
1983 CJ7 

if you had this cj7 frame, how would you build it?

First off, new guy here!

I've been doing my best to search this forum but I'm still learning my way around so forgive me for missing any similar threads.

That said, I have an '83 cj7 that I recently aquired. the frame is rough by Nrth Carolina standards but pristine if you are from up north. No holes that I can see.so far the rear x-member will be replaced as it is a little dinged, and I have already broken three or four bolts at the steering box and rear shackle hangers. I nearly have the frame stripped bare. My goal is to build a solid frame so that I won't have to take the jeep back this far apart again! I am building a nice 80/20 rig for mostly street and some mid level wheeling, with a V8 and possibly a spring over with 35's max.

Right now I want to gusset the shackle hangers, reinforce the stering box with the rugged ridge kit, tie the frame to a yj or tj family style bar (I have a Glass tub already) and just generally clean and prep the rest of the frame. I have a budget of $800 for the frame.

Any additional advice regarding getting the inside of the boxed frame cleaned up and squared away would be appreciated. I plan to blast the frame myself and prime with zink chromate primer and paint with oil based farm implement paint on the outside.

So how would you build it? Thanks in advance!

CrankyD is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message