Id'ing RE Lifts.. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Id'ing RE Lifts..

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineThe Solution to Radius Arm Bind - Meet Lock-N-LoadFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options!

Unread 08-18-2003, 03:26 PM   #1
Crzipilot

Id'ing RE Lifts..

Hello, newbie here.
I've run the mustang bug out of my blood,and am about to purchase my first jeep. Been doing alot of reading and research, etc... so feel fairly sure what I want.
I'm supposed to go look at a jeep tomorrow, and well the problem is the guy has only owned it for 4/5 months (selling it for house or something) and he says whom he bought it from told him it had a 6" Rubicon SOA lift on it. From what I can tell...the biggest they make is a 4" so possibly he has a 2" body lift on there, or maybe the guy that sold it to him figured the SOA gave it another 2". Either way, is there any way to tell what type of lift has actually been used on the jeep?? Since i'm supposed to go look at it, i'd like to know what really is on it, as he's not real sure.
Thanks in advanced

Crzipilot is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-19-2003, 11:01 PM   #2
agenbroad

the lift probably doesn't have anything to do with the leaves, it's a SOA, (spring over axle) as oposed to SUA(spring under axles), so you go under the jeep and look if the axle is mouted under the leaf springs or on top. If it's SOA, i'd be suprised if it doesn't have more then 6", usualy you get like 8", so your next question is do i want SOA, thats another on of those age old questions, like cj vs. yj, or carb vs. fuel inj. you'd have to start a new thread, then get a million conflicting and different opinions about it.
Unread 08-20-2003, 05:05 AM   #3
Crzipilot